Carb overload?

April 13, 2010 § 2 Comments

Oof, I think I’ve indulged in a bit too much carbs today. I’m feeling quite lethargic and weighed down. For breakfast I had oatmeal made from 1/4 cup quick oats, water + soymilk, 1/2 mashed bananas, a scoop of Amazing Grass Chocolate Infusion Powder, all topped with a few crumbles of chocolate brownie (from the dining hall yesterday), a teaspoon flax seeds, a tablespoon plain nonfat yogurt, and sliced strawberries.

Lunch: some brown rice (half a cup? 3/4 cup cooked?) with veggies following Kath’s recipe. I also had about 1/8 cup of chocolate pudding made with Mori-nu’s Lite Firm Tofu and Mori-nu’s Mates chocolate pudding mix. A bit sweet to my taste, but nevertheless yummy! And since it’s blended with tofu it’s a source of protein too.

I had Neurobiology and then a meeting with the Asian American Advisory Board (Ad Board) at 4pm. I had a couple of strawberries, half a slice of Tofurkey, and a bite of TCL Trail Mix Granola. Random, I know. I wasn’t all that hungry but felt I needed some fuel.

For dinner I went to the dining hall and I had a slice of Spinach Quiche, which according to their nutritional info is about 290 calories per serving. I also had about 1/8 cup of some sort of penne pasta mixed with sun dried tomato goodness. This was all topped off with a side salad with organic spring greens, a hard-boiled egg, some olives, three slices cucumbers, a handful of chickpeas, a sprinkle of raisins and sunflower seeds, and fat-free tomato basil dressing. For dessert I had about 5 frosted mini-wheats with about 2 tablespoon of cottage cheese and some cantaloupe. SO FULL AFTER THAT.

At the beginning of orchestra I had to play on a full stomach, which was not at all comfortable. By about 8:30pm, I have partially digested, and playing was easier. All in all, I did not think I played well today. The flutes actually got “yelled” at several times today. Well Dr. Lamkin never yells, but, you know what I mean. I felt horrible. Ever since Ilan and Andrea left, I’ve always felt that I can never be as good as them on the first flute part. I fail at living up expectations of the first flute position 😦

Well well, now it’s 10:19pm and I still got a long night ahead of me. I’m still quite full from my dinner, but I did have half of a strip of wild blueberry Airhead candy bar (just needed some sugar fix, I guess). I almost had a snicker mini-size bar, but managed to resist it. I don’t think I need any more carbs or sugar for that matter today. Tomorrow, a good run or elliptical perhaps? I hope it’s not chilly in the morning.

Anyways, I discovered Kino MacGregor yesterday, and am amazed at how young she got certified to teach Ashtanga Yoga by Sri K. Pattabhi Jois! She started practicing Ashtanga at age 19 (I started at 18), and in merely 10 years age age 29, became certified. This makes her the youngest person alive to be certified! She’s done the third series and is currently working on the fourth. You know how RARE that is?!?!?! To have done the third series AND working on the fourth? There’s probably only a handful of people in the world who can do that!

Kino Macgregor

Oh how I envy her! My dream was to travel to Mysore, India someday and study under Sri K. Pattabhi Jois. His death back in May of 2009 was a devastation to the devoted Ashtanga Yogi’s. Needless to say, Kino is now my new inspiration. Ok, Elaine, you are almost done with college. Just hang on one more year, and you can get your teacher’s certificate, travel to India and study Ashtanga to your heart’s desire!

Alright, I’m out. Work work work!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Carb overload?

  • EcoYogini says:

    that is pretty amazing- much dedication involved there.

    At the same time, you’re right- her path isn’t necessarily the “best”. I’m not an Ashtangi (although I don’t mind the practice once in a while), but you can be a fantastic “yogi” regardless of where you are “series” wise 🙂

    A year will pass by super fast!

    • elaine says:

      thanks! you’re the first person to comment on my blog 🙂 i hope once school ends for this semester i’ll have more time to keep up with this site (and of course, practice yoga!).

      I love the layout of your blog btw! it’s got a very relaxing feeling to it. is that you in the header?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Carb overload? at Om Sweet Om.

meta

