Some things of the past

May 10, 2010 § 4 Comments

Today I officially start the 2nd day of my time in Taiwan. Yesterday was such a lazy day for me. I woke up at around 7am and I spent the morning perusing through blogs, trying to make self-timer on my camera work so I can post pictures for the Yoga May Challenge. I downloaded and printed some piano sheet musics simply because I was bored. Mid-morning, I rolled out the yoga mat and did a few sun salutations, but found that I couldn’t go on. I was that lazy. I sat meditating for awhile and that calmed my antsy mind. Lunch came around and I made myself an omelette and steamed veggies.

I’ve been dying to get a haircut for the past few weeks. Since it’s soooooo much cheaper in Taiwan to get a high-quality cut I decided to wait till I’m here. Costs about $15 bucks here, and wayyyyyyyy better than SuperCuts quality. And so, I trekked off in the afternoon, caught the bus like I’ve been doing that every day. Although I’ve been away from home for 4 months, I always feel like I’ve never left whenever I come back, like time stopped when I left home and started again when I returned. Isn’t that weird? Does that ever happen to you?

In the evening I actually baked something! Finally. Well, I bought this can of olives to make the Mediterranean Black Olive Bread over winter break, but never got around to it. When I saw it yesterday, I decided to get to it. Unfortunately, we ran out of olive oil!!!!!! Besides olives, that is a crucial part of the recipe! I had to go with regular canola oil instead. So no pictures here. It’s still pretty good, but not as flavorful as it should be. BRILLIANT with some brie cheese though! I plan to make another one tomorrow with olive oil, and i’ll post pictures then!

Today I have an exciting plan!:

  • Ashtanga yoga in the A.M.
  • Lunch with one of my fave yoga teachers at an Italian restaurant
  • Massage?
  • Shopping with mom?

Yes, I plan on having a full-body massage while I am back. While I was at the barber shop yesterday, they gave me a mini shoulder massage. Only then did I realize how tense I have been for the past few weeks! Right then, I knew I had to squeeze in a massage…for the good of my body.

I also found some old pictures yesterday when I was just bumming around the house doing nothing. Pictures of stuff I baked in the past that I’d like to share here. Recipes can be found under my Cook page soon.

Blackberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake (Spring 08)

Blackberry Cream Cheese Coffee Cake: cut up

This was truly a delish! OMG, cakey bottom, creamy cheesy middle, topped with blackberries and crumbles! Note to self: MAKE THIS AGAIN!

Cherry-topped no bake cheesecake

This I made for my ❀ on Valentine’s day this year. Cheesecake is his favorite!

Toffee Apple Crisp

THIS WAS SO GOOD TOO! I actually used butterscotch chips because I didn’t have any toffee chips at hand at that time. Toffee/butterscotch + apple + crumbles = HEAVEN!

Chocolate peanut butter-marbled banana bread

An epic bread!

Banana Oatmeal Cookies

These were delish little gems! So chewy and moist and banana-y!

Reese Peanut Butter Cupcakes

These were very rich, as you can tell. The cupcake is chocolate, filled with chopped Reese’s peanut butter cups mixed with peanut butter and a little heavy cream. The topping included more peanut butter and heavy cream..lol. I could only have one at a time, because they were so rich!

Here are also some of the eats I had yesterday. Mangoes here are soooooooooooooo GOOD! Not tart or sour at all. So juicy and full of flava!

BEST MANGO!!

Asian pears

Crunchy and juicy asian pears! I always have so much whenever I come back here.

What’s your favorite fruit?

What are some of the really good baked goods you’ve had recently?

Tagged:

§ 4 Responses to Some things of the past

  • Oh, the coffee cake looks DIVINE. (Somehow whenever I type divine I start out by typing dEvine. Weird?!) And the toffee apple crisp! Oh, drool. πŸ˜€

    Mangoes are so good from Taiwan, no? Actually I think ALL fruit from Taiwan is good. But especially the tropical ones, since Taiwan IS sub-tropical after all!

    My favourite fruit would have to be apples. πŸ˜› So Western of me, I know, but I like to munch on at least one every day. (Yes you read right, AT LEAST one EVERY day.)

    Really good baked goods? I’d have to say the mochi brownie bites I made about two weeks ago. Recipe is from http://eats.pinjing.net . Make them sometime! They’re delicious. πŸ˜€ (I also made banana muffins last week.)

    Wei-Wei

  • Dmitri says:

    I know where that Cherry-topped no bake cheesecake is residing… my tummy!

    • elaine says:

      nope you’re wrong. the fats, sugars, and protein have all been digested and stored in your body now. the other stuff are probably somewhere in the ocean…

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Some things of the past at Om Sweet Om.

meta

