Back in Claremont + Taiwan Eats

May 15, 2010 § 5 Comments

I. am. so. friggin. jetlagged. right. now. 12 hours of flight plus 2 hours of commute to Claremont. Then it was packing the mess I left in my dorm room before I left for Taiwan. I also broke my $6 blender that I got from a school auction while I was moving stuff from my room to my car :-(. Although it was not the greatest blender, it served me well for the short time I got to use it–it made me wonderful green monster smoothies.

Right now it’s 10:15pm and I am super super super tired. I still have alot of boxes to move tomorrow morning!!! Gahhhh I hate packing & moving and then having to unpack & organize. It’s okay, I’ll just have to do this moving thing one more year. Well, hopefully I’d have settled down with a job by then…

Despite the fact there’s more moving + packing tomorrow, I’m excited for commencement! I have quite a few senior friends who are getting outta here! Yay congrats to them and all those seniors out there! 🙂 I might take Monday off and start my 10-week intense research job on Tuesday so that I can have some time to settle into my apartment. I’m excited about research, but 8-9 hrs working in a lab for 10 weeks can be pretty exhausting! I know, because I did the same thing last summer. Judging by this, you can probably bet I won’t be spending lots of time working as a research assistant or a lab technician in the future.

The often recurring question: So what is it that I want to do?

I don’t know. But as one of my yoga teacher said: Live in the present, you’ll know when the time comes.

Ahhh…such beautiful, comforting words!

So what have I been doing this past week while I was here in good ol’ Taiwan? Enjoying good food of course! 🙂

A spring roll! You probably are not familiar with this type of spring roll, but you can think of it as a Taiwanese burrito. Basically, it’s cooked veggies, egg, meat (well in my case, no meat) topped with grounded sesame powder+sugar blend, wrapped in skin-thin flour wrap. It’s delicious, nutritious, and a well-balanced meal for a dollar! One of my faves of Taiwanese eats!

These are like savory “pancakes” filled with spring onions. I was so tempted to get one, but they used animal oil in the cooking process, so not for me!

The following day, I had lunch with my badminton coach of four years (all through high school). She’s one of my best buddies, like another sister to me! We went to a vegetarian restaurant called “Easy House.” They emphasize foods that are all natural, vegetarian, and nourishing for the body.

The cover of their menu is adorable! Look at those cute veggies!

Food! I ordered a pot of mixed mushrooms+ veggies + tofu, and it comes with a side of 10-grain rice.

My coach & I 🙂

More yummy food for lunch today! Vegetarian buffet~

plate numero uno

On my plate are (clockwise): Sauteed lima beans, curried cauliflower & rice cakes, fake “sashimi”, cold soba noodles, imitation “eel”, sauteed greens, imitation “squid”.

Imitation "eel"

Imitation "squid"

Yes, it’s totally normal in Taiwan (and in any Asian country in general) to eat eel and squid. Although not on a regular basis since they’re a bit pricey. But they make these vegetarian ones look so real!

Another type of bamboo shoots, cooked in delicious soup!

I shared this with my dad.

plate # 2

Plate 2 consisted of (again, clockwise): Sweet black beans, pickled papaya salad, more imitation eel, some veggies, steamed dumplings, and braised tofu. I was lazy so I didn’t take close up pictures of any of the food items above =P

The next pose will feature Taiwan’s nature scenes! You won’t want to miss out on that 🙂

Right now I’m trying to figure out how to set up Airport Extreme since my apartment does not have wireless (I’m “borrowing” my neighbor’s wireless right now ^_^). Ahhh I can’t remember where I put the installation CD that came with it and the instruction manual!!! It might be somewhere in one of the packed boxes I still yet have to retrieve from the car. Should I go get it? But it’s late. But I want to figure this out! I’m tired…

Perhaps I should just go get a LONNNNNNG shower and BRUSH my teeth. I hate long flights because I always feel sooo gross afterwards. Maybe I’ll just call it a day.

+ Have you ever gone out of state/country? If yes, what’s the longest flight you’ve been on?
For me, I travel to and from Taiwan alot. Like twice a year. Going back to Taiwan takes about 14 hours, but flying to Los Angeles takes only 10-11 hrs. This is because the plane is against the wind when flying to Taiwan.

+ Any summer plans?
Hah, 10 weeks of research for me!

Tagged: , ,

§ 5 Responses to Back in Claremont + Taiwan Eats

  • Mmm so much yummy food! By the way, that “spring roll” is actually a runbing, or 潤餅. It’s so delicious! We actually buy the skins and do a sort of runbing buffet sometimes in my mom’s family. I’ve also seen those vegetarian restaurants everywhere! They’re actually really cool, with the buffets and everything. All of the imitation meats are scarily meat-like… o.O

    I love Taiwanese food, and how incredibly CHEAP and YUMMY it is! :D:D

    Wei-Wei

    • elaine says:

      yeah my family does that buffet style thing too! i only described it as “spring roll” or “burrito-like” for some readers who may not know what it’s like 🙂

  • Lindsay says:

    Everything looks so yummy! The burrito has my tummy growling!

  • Vivian says:

    Wow, the foods looks really delicious (and healthy)! I was born and raised in Canada, and while my parents are from China, I still haven’t visited Asia yet. I don’t think I could deal with such a long plane ride! The furthest I’ve been is Cuba…or actually I think California is a longer flight for 5 hrs?
    My summer plans are to finish off my degree by the begining on July and then not sure. I’m hoping I can go to an ashram in British Columbia/visit Vancouver 🙂 …and then job search. lol But like you mentioned, I’m gonna try to savour being free from school/work, while I can!

  • […] how my blender broke the other day while I was moving? I ordered a Black & Decker blender. Hopefully it’ll […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Back in Claremont + Taiwan Eats at Om Sweet Om.

meta

