Big clutter

May 17, 2010 § 6 Comments

I officially moved in to the apartment. It was soooo much work, and I woke up today with slightly sore biceps and quads. After dropping off a couple of my friends off at the airport this morning, I then spent the day organizing the apartment + cleaning.

Here’s what it looked like this morning before I touched anything:

I actually haven’t cleaned up everything yet, so the “after” picture will have to wait :-D. On top of this, I have a plethora of clothes that I need to take care of. Meaning, donating them or putting them away in the closet instead of lying everywhere on the floor.

Tonight’s dinner featured this baby I got back from Taiwan. It’s a mix of tiny bits of seaweed, sesame, and other spices. Like the soy sauce scrambled eggs, this really reminds me of my childhood because I’d always sprinkle these on my rice! Adds alot of flavor without adding calories! That’s my kind of thing!

(sorry, was too lazy to flip the picture. bear with me!)

So naturally, I cooked myself some brown rice with my new ricecooker! Also a product of TW πŸ™‚Β  On the side I steamed some cauliflower and baked tofu, which I marinated with Organic Ville’s Island Teriyaki sauce.

Some baked tofu & cauliflower.

Seaweed sprinkles!

Dinner is served!

A few minutes ago I broke into my new jar of Sunflower seed butter! I saw it on sale at Sprout’s today, and my curiosity got me. Besides, the only nut butter I have right now is Safeway’s creamy peanut butter (hellooo hydrogenated oil and sugar!), so I have a reason to buy a new jar of nut butter right? You bet!

I’ve also been seeing reviews about it from other bloggers, and they seemed to all compliment about its runny consistency and how easy it is to spread!

Om nom nom nom.

My verdict? Loved it! It’ll be so easy to drizzle over my oatmeals in the mornings! Maybe next time I’ll try to crunchy one!

I also had some “soy jerky” just now. Also a product of Taiwan!

Whew, tomorrow I officially start my research job. Gotta be up at 5:45am to get me some yoga time! ❀

A toute a l’heure!

+ What types of nut butters have you tried?

+ Any particular foods that reminds you of your childhood?

Tagged: ,

§ 6 Responses to Big clutter

  • Mmm, I love that stuff! There’s also the little packets of stuff to go on rice, which you then pour tea on. It’s soo good… I believe the origins were in Japan. I’ll look up the name of your rice-sprinkles (haha) and my tea-rice when I get home! πŸ™‚

    I’ve only tried Skippy peanut butter (blegh!) and homemade peanut butter. I’m dying to make almond butter, and will definitely do so when I run out of peanut butter. About sunflower seed butter: Do you think I’d have to shell the seeds before processing them? Wait… dumb question. πŸ˜› That would be rather troublesome, though. :S

    Oh, too many things! Pork floss (my mom used to say that I ate pork floss WITH a congee garnish, instead of congee with a bit of pork floss!), butter flaky flatbreads (ε₯Άζ²Ήι…₯ι€…, or nai you su bing… so good), steamed eggs, salted margarine (yeah, you read that right. Yeah I ate it. With my fingers.) and definitely blood rice cake (米葀糕, or mi xue gao) oh, and “chicken cakes!” (ι›žθ›‹η³•, or ji dan gao) Ah, sigh. I miss them 😦

    You made me hungry! D: Your dinner looks like the perfect dinner to me, actually. πŸ˜€

    Wei-Wei

  • Lindsay says:

    Moving is so tough, but I love it when everything is in its new place!

  • CourtandWhit says:

    I have tried any and all nut butters, but so far my favorite brand out there is PB loco!

  • Dmitri says:

    soy jerky looks good!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Big clutter at Om Sweet Om.

meta

