Love/Hate relationship with Physics

June 14, 2010 § 19 Comments

This morning while I was sweating like a pig enjoying my bowl of hot oatmeal while reading blogs, a hummingbird came flying right up to the window beside me. The Inland Empire Valley is a place where you frequently see hummingbirds, but I have never seen one so close. For a few seconds I admired its airiness, grace, and beauty before it floated rapidly away again.

A hummingbird I saw when a bunch of us went hiking at 4am to catch the sunrise.

What a perfect start to a Monday morning.

On an irrelevant note to self: do not eat hot oats on a warm morning after a sweaty yoga session. D’oh! What was I thinking?

So let me explain the purpose of the title of this entry. Physics is my worst subject in school. Always have, always will. Period. No offense to any Physicists out there! I squirmed through Physics in high school with the easy way out, taking the General Physics instead of opting for Honors Physics or heck, AP Physics like every other one of my friends. Nope, not me, thank you very much. I refused to suffer through Physics more than I had to, ’cause I sooo rather spend my time on Biology-related courses.

God knows how bummed I was when I found out I had to take 3 semesters of Physics at Harvey Mudd College as a requirement, all within the first two years of college. Okay, we had to take 4 semesters of Math as well, but Math is alright. Not great, but not terrible either. I suffered through those first 3 semesters of college, and I did poorly–as low of a grade as I could ever get. I was so ecstatic when I finally finished all my Physics courses. Never, ever again did I want to see, hear, breathe it.

But yesterday, something miraculous happened, and it changed my mindset about Physics.

A free museum dedicated to astronomy and other physics-related stuff.

Before entering the museum, Dmitri and I had a little picnic at the hilltop overlooking the smoggy beautiful LA city.

Can you see Hollywood in the backdrop? πŸ™‚

Dmitri requested that I teach him how to make an egg + cheese wrap, while I made myself a sammie.

The creamiest and sweetest sammie I’ve had! I just realized how horribly bright this picture turned out. Anyways, the sandwich was made on Orowheat Multigrain Sandwich Thins. The victims: avocado, apple slices, brie cheese. If you haven’t tried this combination, go make yourself this NOW. I’ve heard from a friend that apples and avocado make heavenly sandwiches, and I also know apples and brie cheese are perfect pairs. Why not make a decadent trio?

Next we hit up the museum. Some pictures from the lawn outside:

A sundial!

Hah! I look tiny! πŸ˜›

A statue of well-known astronomers and physicists. Staring right at us is Copernicus, who also discovered that the Earth revolves around the Sun. Less well-known than the guy to the right of him (left for us), Galileo.

The museum features some pretty neat stuff, like how the Tesla coil came about and how it works, why we see eclipses, why the tide is governed by the sun but mostly the moon, the physics behind light refraction, the technology used today to measure distances from stars, their intensities, etc, and so on and so forth. Lots of neat stuff! The museum is also open at night for free viewing through their HUMONGOUS telescope!

So back to my story of how much I hate physics, I still do, but that doesn’t mean I can’t appreciate how much it has brought us. Without it, no man would have landed the moon, we would still believe that the sun revolves around us, we would not have discovered galaxies and understood our solar system, we would not have electricity, we would not have airplanes…and I could go on and on.

Bottom point: I hate solving Physics problems, but I do love admiring the contribution it has brought to the science world.

More views from the top of the museum:

I spy with my little eyes…downtown Los Angeles!

Warning: The following contents may nerd you out!

I present to you: The Periodic Table of Elements! Each window has the actual element inside!


Oh hello, random stranger’s hand! πŸ™‚

I swear I stared at this section of the museum for a whole 5 minutes. Please don’t judge me.

Well after all that learning, we were starving by the time we got back home. We whipped up a quick but filling dinner.

Chinese veggies sauteed with garlic & spring onions, baked sweet potato topped with cottage cheese and LOTS of cinnamon. Oh, and unpictured baked beans on the side.

I may or may not have one (or two) servings of So Delicious Dairy-free Chocolate Peanut Butter Ice Cream.

Have a great Monday! πŸ˜€

————————

+ What is/was your worst subject(s) in school? You already know my lack of interest in Physics. I often see the trend that Biologists tend to dislike Physics.

Tagged: ,

§ 19 Responses to Love/Hate relationship with Physics

  • Kelsey says:

    that photo should be framed and hung on a wall! thats pretty magnificent!

    wow ive seen a few blogs today that have had peanut butter and chocolate ice cream.. guess we are all in synch with our cravings today huh!!

    even my post tonight has peanut butter and chocolate lol

  • Kelsey says:

    worst subject btw… HISTORY. snooze

  • I’m with you on hating physics! I luckily avoided it all throughout high school, but then I had to take it in university. I was not happy with that! πŸ˜›

  • WHY have i not seen peanut butter so delicious?! that looks amazing, and i love the so deliciois “ice cream”s.
    and i hear you on the physics thing. i am NOT about science/physics/bio/etc. i used to hate math, too – now i actually sort of enjoy some parts of it, given the right circumstances πŸ˜›

  • OMG. The periodic table of elements…!!! That is SO COOL! Science nerds unite πŸ˜‰ The museum looks really cool! I love that you can see Hollywood πŸ˜€

    I hate PE. Always have… but hopefully that’ll change, eventually. 😦

    Wei-Wei

  • highonhealthy says:

    Ugh, I hated Physics. In fact, I hated it so much that I took two classes and then dropped out. Heh. Oh well, not like I’ll ever want it. Any career that means I need to take physics in university is not a career for me!

    I will admit though.. that museum is extremely cool and I would love to go there. No shame in staring at the periodic table, I know that I would be stuck there doing the same thing!

  • brandi says:

    what a beautiful day!

    I was horrible at math.

  • Mae says:

    Calc and physics… I have a strong dislike for all things calculus and physics. I actually think physics wouldn’t be that bad if we had learned something during the first 8 month of the year and not tried to cover 10 units in the last month. Ugg… and I’m in the honors course! Before the standardized exam next week we have to independently learn 2 entire chapters (which make up about 20% of the exam). Kill me! My only goal is to not fail.

    I love other sciences though. Bio and chem= ❀ and I like history and do well but I could never see myself doing anything with that.

    Anyway the museum looks really cool and the Chinese veggie side looks amazing as well!

    I'm so glad I started to read your blog. I love your writing style and… umm… everything about it! haha

    • Aww thanks Mae, you’re too sweet! Your blog is fantastic as well, and all your recipes look so awesome!

      Wow! Cramming 10 units in a month? I can see why you hate it so much..lol. Anyways, best of luck on your exams! I’m sure you’ll do fine πŸ™‚

  • Lindsay says:

    I made a similar sandwich a few weeks ago, but I didn’t even think to put avocado on it. Holy cow great idea!

  • peanutbutterfingers says:

    best: english
    worst: math

    i still have to yell out to my fiance to help me divide recipes if i only want to make portions for 2 people instead of 4!

    • Tell me about it! I’m sharing an apartment with my boyfriend for the summer. I swear my weekly grocery budget more than doubled. I always feel like I’m feeding a starving kid who hasn’t had anything to eat for a month!

  • Sweet Cheeks says:

    hey! So glad you found my blog so that I could find yours!! You are adorable. πŸ™‚

    I NEED that choco peanut butter icecream….I haven’t been able to find that flavor! Enjoy some more for me, k?

  • BEAUTIFUL picture of the hummingbird- I’m amazed you were able to capture a picture of it. It looks like a postcard.
    I did the same thing this morning with the hot breakfast- I had planned on making oatmeal but it was just SO hot outside & I had just worked out…so I decided on something cold instead πŸ˜€
    Enjoy your trip! Looks really cool!

  • […] I haven’t finished this so delicious thing since then. Shame on […]

  • CourtandWhit says:

    Currently I am reading The Last Song, it is so good! I literally cannot put down the book.

    Your breakfast sounds like a serious chocolatey goodness. When I get a chocolate craving in the morning then I either will have a choc. cherry bomb, or a chocolate chip bagel with peanut butter. It is to die for!

    -Court
    P.S. I feel the same way, today is just a rest day… I am pooped!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love/Hate relationship with Physics at Om Sweet Om.

meta

