Dessert for breakfast

June 16, 2010 § 15 Comments

I love it when breakfasts taste like dessert, and my day started out just so.

A Brandi-inspired banana split oatmeal sundae. My banana kind of fell apart when I was trying to slit it down the middle, so I tried to cover up the ugliness with loads of oats and yogurt. I smeared one half of the banana with sunflower butter, and the other half with raspberry jam. Then I topped it with 1/4 cup oats cooked in water and a dash of salt. Now, here’s the impulsive thing I did this morning. I spiked my oats with a few drops of almond extract. It. smelled. heavenly. It gave the oats such a refreshing taste to it too! For extra creaminess, I layered some homemade Greek yogurt on top of the oats, adorned with fresh blackberries and April’s protein brownie batter.

And of course there’s cinnamon. Lots and lots of it. In my world, there’s no such thing as too much cinnamon. I think I ❤ cinnamon almost as much as I ❤ dark chocolate.

Going along with the almond theme, I made myself a huge cup of Teeccino Herbal Coffee–Amaretto style.

Actually, I have this almost every morning. I’m not a huge coffee drinker (I try to stay caffeine-free), and when I do, I go for decaf. Of course there are those days where I just need that extra boost of mental power, but I usually opt for tea.

I do like coffee, that is, when it is loaded with milk and spices and a dash of sweetener. I was very excited when I discovered Teeccino a couple of years ago at my local grocery store, and all their flavors have not disappoint me yet. Here’s a long blurb from their website:

Every cup of Teeccino is brimming with nutritious health benefits that are naturally released during brewing from Teeccino’s herbs, grains, fruits and nuts. These nutrients are quickly absorbable from brewed Teeccino because the nutrients are suspended in liquid so digestion isn’t needed to remove them from fiber.In many ways, Teeccino rebalances the negative effects of coffee. For instance, Teeccino is excellent for people with digestive health conditions because it is non-acidic and contains the prebiotic, inulin. Inulin is a soluble fiber from chicory root that supports a healthy population of beneficial digestive flora, so necessary for good digestive health.

Coffee, on the other hand, is highly acidic and along with its caffeine content, coffee can over-stimulate the digestive tract aggravating health problems for people with gastrointestinal conditions like acid reflux and IBS.

Another example is heart health. Teeccino provides two heart-healthy nutrients, potassium, an electrolyte mineral, and soluble fiber. Potassium helps prevent strokes and high blood pressure. Soluble fiber lowers total cholesterol. Drinking several cups of Teeccino daily provides nutrients that support good cardiovascular health.

Caffeine, however, is a central nervous stimulant that makes the heart beat faster and can increase blood pressure. Coffee drinking has been shown to increase blood pressure in sensitive individuals. Caffeine’s effect on heart beats can stress the heart in people who have heart conditions. Decaf coffee has been shown to raise cholesterol and produce the “jitters” even though it has less caffeine than regular coffee.

Energy is the reason why many people drink coffee. With Teeccino, people experience an energy boost that comes from nutrients, not stimulants like caffeine. A cup of Teeccino keeps energy steady and balanced, but won’t provide that spike and subsequent crash that you can experience from too much coffee. Although many people drink coffee to get “energy”, they are really putting themselves in a state called “flight or fight syndrome”, which is a stress response that triggers alertness along with a host of stress reactions throughout the body. Getting off of the caffeine rollercoaster ride of sudden highs followed by lows in energy is one of the benefits of drinking Teeccino!

There’s also that thing about caffeine negating the absorption of nutrients, and hence I typically try to stay away from coffee while consuming a meal. Getting back to the point, I really recommend Teeccino to everyone!

Ironically, I couldn’t help myself but grab an overpriced cup of joe during my lunch break today, the decaf course.

Tall decaf skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte. Again, going with the cinnamon trend. Oh, why did I wait so long to try you? I’ve been sticking to the plain vanilla lattes for too long!

I also had a bite of thinkThin Chocolate-Covered Strawberry bar to go along with the coffee.

My thoughts? 😦 I thought they would at least have dried strawberries in there! Instead, there was a funky strawberry taste.

Well guess what. Today was yet another long day in ze lab. Seriously, 10+ hours a day? I feel like I need a break in the middle of the week! I’ve also been resortin to uber unhealthy eating because I stay so late in the lab. Constant snackage when I got a minute to spare, and going for the high carb/high fat/high sugar grubs. E.g., cookies. 😦

I also haven’t been cooking as much since I always return home tired, grumpy, hungry, and not wanting to stand any longer in the kitchen having been on my feet for the entire day already.  Tonight I again went for the easy stuff for dinner: frozen meals.

Amy’s Indian Palak Paneer and Mattar Paneer.

These are quite tastey and not as bad as other frozen meals but I’d rather eat freshly prepared food.

At least I made a smoothie in my Buddha Bowl:

What went in the blender: (made 2 huge portions)

  • 1 whole frozen sliced banana
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 cups frozen spinach
  • 1/2 cup kefir
  • 1 cup soymilk
  • splash of H2O
  • a handful of ice cubes
  • Amazing Grass Chocolate Infusion

This felt soooo refreshing after a long day of work!

With that, I will leave you guys pondering over this:

Tell me if you have any brilliant interpretation of this! 😀

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to Dessert for breakfast

  • Courtney says:

    My boyfriend and I always add “in bed” to the end of the fortune cookie fortunes… never results in any brilliant revelations, but always results in a good laugh! “A man must never entertain himself” was our favorite. :/

  • Kelsey says:

    i felt liek u were holding that bar up to the screen for me to bite ❤ hehe

    u know i love the idea of dessert breakfasts after my post about it 🙂 YUM YUM

    xoxo

  • OMG. Your breakfast looks simply amazing! I love cinnamon, too, but I don’t find many places that I can add it. I’ll definitely add it to my oatmeal next time… thanks for the reminder 😀 (Odd fact: my sister doesn’t like cinnamon! GASP)

    Don’t stress too much at the lab! Do you ever pack your own meals/snacks…? Or considered a crockpot-esque dinner? (Or pre-make dinners, freeze them every night and then reheat them as necessary? Cheaper than frozen meals, I’ll say!)

    Wei-Wei

    • Yup I definitely pack my own lunches to work and snacks. But for some reason I’ve been ALWAYS hungry this past week. Seriously, my tummy will go rumbling again one hour after a filling lunch. And i’d go on noshing on one too many granola/protein bars. At times we have cookies, and I nosh on those..lol.

      Yeah i should probably cook more over the weekend to have batches of stuff ready to be reheated. Thanks for reminding me!

  • ahah – can we agree that that fortune may very well be the best. one. ever? 😛
    And I feel you on the lab thing – I’m on my feet about all day at work, and add to that my time at the barn I’m at about 10 hours too. It’s those days that I am SO grateful for my rainy baking/cooking days on the weekend when I get stuff ready for the week. Lets me throw stuff together quick!
    That banana split oatmeal looks delicious. I need to do that soon!! and I’m currently reading the caffeine article you linked to. Yikes!

  • sophia says:

    Haha I like that you ate two of those Annie meals for dinner…I think one of them is just too small! Perfect for a snack, but not a “meal” as they claim to be.

    I love caffeine. I don’t over do it, but if I get coffee, it’s always caffeinated. You’ll like HK coffees, though. They have more milk than coffee!

  • Ugh, I’ve tried those Think Thin bars and really don’t like them. They always gave me really bad stomach pains. 😦

    I love fortune cookies! The fortunes are always so fun. I’m not a fan of chinese food but I would definitely get it just for those. 😀

  • thehungryscholar says:

    I like your fortune! Haha. I’ve gotten a blank one once, and the Chinese word-to-learn on the back was “death.” I was like….wonderful!

  • […] Ashtanga Yoga Dessert for breakfast […]

  • Lori says:

    Teeccino is my FAVORITE thing ever. I drink it every morning at work! Yum! The Amaretto flavor is the best I’ve tried. Chia flavor is disgusting (or so I thought). Add a little So Delicious Coconut Milk Creamer and I’m all set to start my day!

    Your Buddah Bowl looks fantastic! I love my thick smoothies from a bowl with a spoon.. much better than sipping from a mason jar- although both are enjoyable. 🙂

  • CourtandWhit says:

    Elaine!
    That Banana Split oatmeal sundae looks ravishing 🙂 Hehe, we are so going to make this. YUM! Btw, you take awesome pics that are so clear and bright.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dessert for breakfast at Om Sweet Om.

meta

