HAIIIIIII-YA! to a productive Saturday

June 19, 2010 § 15 Comments

First of all, I want to give a shout out to my mom. It’s her birthday today! Well, technically yesterday since she’s in Taiwan. She reads my blog too, so HAPPY BIRTHDAY MOM! πŸ™‚

Summer of 2007, Disney World, Florida

Hope the rest of the family gave you a FABULOUS birthday!

In case you were wondering, yes I did watch The Karate Kid yesterday evening at the same drive-in theater. Having learned our lesson last time that arriving there at 8:15pm when the movie starts at 8:30pm is not a good idea.

This time, we raced to the line at 7:30pm, and the box office opens at 7:45pm. Great family movie, by the way. And can I not emphasize enough how cute Jaden Smith is?!?!?! ❀

Dmitri and I spent the majority of time while waiting for 8:30pm to roll around playing Mr. Egg. I totally dominated that game! If you haven’t heard of this game, basically one person thinks of a well-known or famous person (can be an artist, singer, actor/actress, writer, scientist, etc.). And the other person must ask yes or no question to lead him/her to guess the person. For example, the person I’m thinking of is Jennifer Aniston (which I did think of yesterday). You can ask me questions like: Is your person a male? Is your person an actress? Is your person blonde? So on, and so forth. It’s a game just for killing time’s sake.

Now let’s rewind a bit. Before the movie, we stopped by Souplantation–basically a big salad/soup/pasta/bread bar. I had never heard of this place till one of my friends told me about it when she visited me over my spring break this year. It’s now one of my fave restaurant!

Hidden under all the veggies included raspberry-walnut slaw. So yummy!

To-die-for honey-whipped butter.

Moroccan Tomato-Lentil Soup.

And of course, no meal is complete with some sweet ending.

Stewed apples and peaches, topped with apple mousse, cottage cheese, peanut sprinkles, granolas, and chocolate syrup.

Then it was movie time!

This morning started out like any other Saturday. Waking up to the sunlight streaming through my blinds, lying in bed for 20 more min, then rolling out of bed leisurely. Usually I’d go for a run soon after getting out of bed, but this morning I was feeling lazy. So I had a bowl of oatmeal and read some blogs. Ahhh…I love these kinds of leisurely mornings!

At 10am I stepped out for an easy run. I was tired today, and my legs just didn’t want to move fast. I stopped and walked two times, but still managed to finish 4 miles within 45 minutes.

Does anyone feel that after a good workout there’s no other perfect way to recharge but with a ginormous green monster smoothie?

❀ my Buddha bowl!

With chocolate cheerios!

Green, green, brown, and red!

And of course other snackage ensued.

Mini Chinese-styled steamed buns and Sweet BBQ Vegetarian Pork Buns. You can probably tell I got too excited and dug in before I remembered to take a picture.

Mini BBQ-vegetarian pork buns. With one bite taken.

Steamed buns!

Growing up, I loved the sweet BBQ pork buns, but turning vegetarian sort of worked against me. If you’ve ever had those BBQ Pork Buns at Dim Sum places, you’ll know what I’m talking about. When I went back to Taiwan last winter, I discovered these vegetarian versions! I loved them so much I brought about 1.5 dozens of them back here to California.

More food to come after this:

From the package Dmitri’s mom sent him.

Not bad. Does not have the most stellar ingredients list though. 😐

The rest of the afternoon was spent on doing productive stuff, including grocery shopping, baking, cleaning the apartment, prepping dinner, making Mama Peas Tofu Ricotta Gnocchi for tomorrow’s dinner.

Let’s talk about my favorite: baking!

You Got Peanut Butter in my Chocolate” Cookies from Eat, Drink and Be Vegan. This is just like Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. It’s amazing how soft and crumbly these cookies are, even without the butter! Dreena Burton once again made my day! πŸ™‚

After messing around more in the kitchen and cleaning the apartment, scrubbing bathrooms, the kitchen, etc., it was time to prep dinner. Since it was such a hot day, I decided on a chilled dinner.

Chilled Noodles with Peanut Sauce & Lentils
Makes 3-4 servings

  • 3-4 servings of noodles of your choice, cooked
  • two small carrots, or one large, chopped into small pieces (or pulse in food processor)
  • half a large cucumber, again chopped into small pieces
  • 1 cup cooked lentils

The Sauce (makes about 1 cup)

  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (I used chunky, but creamy is fine too)
  • 2 Tbsp sesame oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp minced ginger
  • 3 Tbsp honey
  • 3 Tbsp rice vinegar

Mix the ingredients of the sauce in a food processor until well blended.

In a large bowl, mix the noodles, lentils, carrots & cucumbers, and sauce until the noodles are coated in the sauce. Chill in the refrigerator until ready to serve.

The results:

These may not be the most aesthetically pleasing noodles, but they were darn good!!! The noodles remind me of these traditional Taiwanese chilled noodles that is paired with sesame sauce, shredded carrots & cucumbers. It brought me back to my home country! When I was whipping up the sauce, I didn’t even have that Taiwanese noodles in mind, but the taste turned out exactly like that. I guess the sesame oil, peanut butter, and the lentils combined brought out the same nutty taste as the sesame sauce.

One more You Got Peanut Butter in my Chocolate Cookies later (I’ve had a total of 3 today!), I sat down in front of my computer and realized how tired I was! The running, errands, cleaning, baking, cooking sure got to me today! I also had a cheesecake that I planned to bake tonight, but I’m now debating whether I should make it tonight or tomorrow. Maybe I should take the night off πŸ™‚

Dmitri and I got some exciting plans tomorrow! Can’t wait! πŸ˜€

—————————

+ What are some foods that remind you of your childhood?

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 15 Responses to HAIIIIIII-YA! to a productive Saturday

  • Those cookies look amazing!!! They’re right up there one food that reminds me of my childhood- peanut butter/chocolate no bake cookies (or “cow patties”) πŸ˜€ Besides that..animal crackers, smores, and halloween candy. You know, healthy stuff πŸ˜‰

  • O_O (<– I seem to be using that emoticon quite a lot lately) those cookies look so. GOOD! PB + chocolate = <3<3<3 πŸ˜€

    I'm not so sure about the karate kid movie… I'm actually not a fan of family-style movies at all hahaha πŸ˜›

    Some foods that remind me of my childhood… Well, taiwanese food, mostly? Especially pudding (the yellow kind in the flower-shaped plastic cup), mixuegao (the pigs blood rice cake) and the popsicles from Taiwan… my favourite flavour is the "migao" one with chewy rice in it πŸ˜€

    Wei-Wei

  • Monet says:

    Happy Birthday to your mom! And I agree, those cookies look so so good. Actually, all your food looks so so good. Thanks for sharing these pictures and your day with us!

  • Miin-Huey says:

    Thank you. This is the most special way to hear “happy birthday” from you. That is sooo sweet and I am very happy. Yes, I am your faithful reader. I enjoy reading your blog.
    Mom

  • Lindsay says:

    Peanut butter really reminds me of being a kid. My brother and I used to eat giant spoonfulls while mom and dad were at work. Giant meaning we used wooden spoons!

  • Happy birthday to your mom! Those pork buns look yummy. And Dreena seriously has the best recipes ever!

  • Steamed buns are one of the things I can not WAIT to try in Taiwan. And those noodles also look great πŸ™‚ Any regarding foods from my childhood…anything with peanut butter and raisins always has nostalgic value for me. If I put it on white bread and cut it into fun shapes I’d REALLY be going back in time….

  • nattietan says:

    Hey hun, thanks so much for sharing with me a bit about how you struggled with ED and managed to pull through. It fills me with a lot of hope and optimism once more to not simply give up control to ED. You are such a gorgeous gorgeous girl (with a gorgeous Mum to boot! – Happy Birthday to her!) and deserve all the beauty and happiness life has to offer.

    About food that reminds me of childhood… bread and butter sprinkled with sugar – simple but so good, plain congee with condiments to go with it and frosties. Lol.

    Much love,
    Nat xoxo

  • Happy birthday to your mom!

    I love lazy mornings like that. Also I love that bowl! I’ve wanted one ever seeing it on KERF!

    Eggo waffles and grilled cheese sandwiches remind me of my childhood. Not really the healthiest choices, but I didn’t care back then. πŸ˜‰

  • thehungryscholar says:

    Your mom is too cute. So much fun.

    I’m glad I ate breakfast already, because your post made me so hungry!

  • Miin-Huey says:

    Thanks so much to all the friends that gave me birthday greetings, it really made a most special birthday to me. Best wishes to all of you.
    Elaine’s mom

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HAIIIIIII-YA! to a productive Saturday at Om Sweet Om.

meta

