Very raspberry

June 23, 2010 § 13 Comments

First of all, I’ve updated my Meet Me page. It’s newer, spankier, more thorough, more detailed, and you can learn more about me now! ๐Ÿ˜€

This week is one of those weeks when I just feel like I’m running out of steam. I felt like I was just dragging my body around the lab the whole day yesterday! Thankfully, tomorrow I decided to take a “reading day” off. Ever since I started this research thing back in May, I haven’t had the time to really sit down and read primary papers that might be of importance to my project. Tomorrow will be, simply put, “sit-on-my bum-all-day-and-read” day. I’m usually not one who likes to veg out all day, but I am actually looking forward to a day of resting my legs a bit.

What’s a foodie gotta do when he/she is running out of steam?

Cook and eat! (balanced out with exercise, of course)

Lately, I’ve been indulging in foods from all seasons.

From the summery raspberry concoctions…

Raspberry preserve + sliced fresh raspberries, and Laughing Cow Light Swiss Cheese wedge on cinnamon spice Alternative bagel.

Banana + PB wrap topped with raspberry ricotta sauce (raspberry preserve + fresh raspberries + a scoop of ricotta, simmered on low heat). Cottage cheese and more sauce, raspberries, and cinnamon for dippage.

To some fall flavors.

Homemade Greek yogurt with sliced bananas, Lauren's (Whole Wheat or Bust) pumpkin roasted chickpeas, homemade pumpkin butter, and more cinnamon!

Yum yum chickpeas!

While the boyfriend opted for some wintery cuisine.

Moroccan "Lamb" Stew cooked by the boyfriend. The "lamb" was replaced by TJ's Beefless strips. Served with whole wheat couscous, roasted broc & carrots.

my plate

What about spring? Maybe some cool slaw?

Tossed in Waldens Farm’s Raspberry viniagrette, more white vinegar, honey, and pepper.

Ate the slaw with a quesadilla made with TJ’s spicy hummus and nutritional yeast, pressed in La Tortilla’s 100-calorie wrap.

I definitely like their soft wraps the best. So soft and chewy! But alas, they are the most expensive, and only comes in 6 tortillas per package :-(.

~~~

Okay, so now that you’ve all been pumped with some food pictures, don’t mind me while I go on and whine about my problems lately.

Lately, I’ve been feeling stressed in the kitchen, usually before dinnertime. Mornings are my calmest times, where I can let my creativity flow as I scavenge for my victims in the fridge and pantry to make a delicious breakfast. Come dinnertime, I am cranky, impatient, and lacking creativity (at least for this week). I guess it’s the combination of long work days, coming home to a house that is “messy” (in my definition), a boyfriend that is clearly hungry, and trying to get dinner on the table as soon as possible.

Call me superstitious, spiritual, whatever, but I am a firm believer that good food is prepared with calm minds, gentle hands, and most of all, with love. That is why home-cooked meals outrank any 5-star restaurants dishes, because they are prepared in a household filled with love and happiness.

In yoga and Buddhism, there is a belief that one can taste the mindset of whoever prepared his/her meal when he/she prepared it. If the cook’s mind is disturbed, angry, upset, or frustrated at the time he or she prepares the meal, that same energy is transferred into the food, and whoever ate it will obtain that negative energy. On the other hand, if the cook is calm, grounded, and undisturbed, the positive energy will flow from the cook to the food to the eater.

Now, nobody wants bad energy flowing around do they?

But that’s what I’ve been this past week: a grumpy, grumpy old cook.

Stress definitely is not a good thing to bring into the kitchen. Everything will go wrong if you bring that monster in. I slightly burned one of the omelet on Monday because my mind was distracted. Today, I initially wanted to make some sort of sweet potato hummus quesadilla, but the sweet potato got burnt in the microwave while cooking, which almost set of the fire alarm. Almost.

As for the slaw, I initially wanted to go the creamy route, where I’d mix in some yogurt, honey, mustard, etc. But my creativity was blocked while my stress took over.

Trust me, it’s no fun to cook when your mind is everywhere but in the present–right there, in the kitchen, meditating on preparing your food.

You heard me right, it’s cooking meditation, ladies and gents, boys and girls.

It makes perfect sense, because when you’re preparing your food (in a calm mindset, of course), your breathing is steady, your mind is focused on what is in front of you, whether it be on the stove, the cutting board, mixing bowl, etc. It’s just you, your food, and your kitchen gadgets.

In order to avoid taking my stress with me into the kitchen, starting tomorrow I will take a deep breath, exhale slowly for 10 seconds, shed all thoughts and distractions from the day, before I step into the kitchen.

Stress, be GONE!!!

Because the kitchen is a sacred place where energy is transferred. Cherish it.

————————-

+ Have you been on a raspberry obsession like I have? How are you eating them? I eat them alone, simmered with preserve, or topped on yogurts or ice cream! ๐Ÿ˜€

+ How do you feel when you are in the kitchen in the morning? Noon? Evening? I am usually the calmest in the morning, because my mind is still free of the distractions that will come throughout the day. I am also usually the only person up at that time, so the house is really quiet.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Very raspberry

  • why do u have to eat such amazing food!!!!!!! i get so jealous of your eats. i need you to be my chef โค hehe.

    the bagel is the best mm.. and im still on the lookout for a good wheat free bagel! i'll find one one day โค

    xoxo

  • thehungryscholar says:

    I love raspberry everything!

    I get so stressed in the kitchen sometimes. I need to leave my bad attitude behind before entering the kitchen sometimes.

  • Just breeeeeeathe girl! Maybe you need to play some relaxing music while you cook ๐Ÿ™‚

  • jqlee says:

    I love raspberries just fresh ๐Ÿ™‚ and by itself or in yogurt or something. Jam is good too but there’s so much sugar added to it. I like your sauce idea though!

    I think I’m okay at every meal. I try not to let “pressure” sink it when I cook. I dont need to make anything fancy for myself. I do notice that I used to be super stressed out when cooking for my bf though. I think we are constantly trying to impress them. But I have learned to relax about it because really, he loves everything I cook because he can’t do it! Haha.

    • LOL i do too! I try to vary the meals whenever I cook for my bf. If I’m just by myself, I just throw whatever I have in my fridge onto my plate. Sometimes a simple dinner consisting of PB&J sandwich does the trick! Now I have to brainstorm what to cook for dinner every day..haha.

  • Monet says:

    I just discovered nutritional yeast a few months ago…I will have to give it a try in a tortilla with hummus. Great idea, and an excellent post on the importance of having a positive outlook, in and out of the kitchen.

  • I also struggle with kitchen/cooking stress, often when I’m not even in the kitchen (like, when I’m trying to get to sleep!). A mentor actually suggested I try not using the microwave for a few days just to slow things down but I wasn’t willing to do that. I love the idea of cooking meditation, though.

  • Meg says:

    Helllooo fellow raspberry lover ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love, love LOVE cooking – I think it’s therapy in itself. It calms me, and the smell does too. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think it’s really important to collect your thoughts before starting anything – not just cooking , you know?

    Enjoy your Thursday girl, thanks for finding my blog, so now I can read yours too ๐Ÿ˜€

  • ahhh- I TOTALLY know what you mean about stress in the kitchen. sometimes I get sooooo stressed out about what to make- how I’m not going to have enough time, etc. A few weeks ago I was running around the kitchen like a mad woman because I was in SUCH a hurry that I ended up breaking an ENTIRE jar of spaghetti sauce ALL over. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ It was horrible- tiny shards of glass everywhere…sauce RUINED the kitchen mat, etc. So now I have just decided that I will try to prepare as much as I can the night before- that way @ least I’m prepared when I enter the kitchen. I’m not stressed (well…as much) about how I’m going to finish it all..and so that we aren’t eating at 10pm.

    • Aww I am so sorry about your spaghetti sauce. I try to multitask in the kitchen so that I can get dinner faster, but that usually ends up in a disaster! I’ve learned my lesson…the hard way ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Matt says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! It is nice to find another college student who shares my lifestyle ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Megan says:

    Oh I have a huuge raspberry obsession! Love them plain or in my overnight oats. I am definitely calmest in the morning too! I’m going to check out your meet me page ๐Ÿ™‚

  • […] Ashtanga Yoga Very raspberry […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Very raspberry at Om Sweet Om.

meta

