Cheesecake and Wasabi

June 28, 2010 § 16 Comments

Don’t worry, I’m not that crazy as putting the both together!

Like I promised from yesterday’s post, I will be revealing what I baked yesterday!

Japanese-style Light Cheesecake

The main difference between this light cheesecake and your regular New York style Cheesecyake is that this version is lighter, fluffier, with a melt-in-mouth texture. This is achieved by beating the heck out of the egg whites (till soft peak forms), then folding that egg white mixture into your yolk mixture. This cheesecake also usually doesn’t come with a crust, and utilizes milk instead of whipping cream.

It’s a popular cake in Taiwan and other East Asian countries since it’s not as heavy and doesn’t make you feel “weighed down” after eating a slice. I promise you can still taste the cream cheese though! My boyfriend, a cheesecake fanatic, has given his approval. πŸ˜€

The recipe is adapted from a Taiwanese blog, so I’ll be your translator for tonight!

~~~

JAPANESE-STYLE LIGHT CHEESECAKE

Makes 4 6-inch, 2 8-inch, or one 9-inch round springform pans.

First, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Yolk mixture:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup milk, room temperature
  • 50 g butter (1/4 cup)
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 6 yolks, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tbsp cake flour (or all-purpose flour if you don’t have any)
  • 1/4 cup corn starch
  • 1/8 tsp salt

In a medium saucepan, heat the butter, milk, and cream cheese at low heat till melted. Remove from stove and let it cool and sit while you prepare the other materials.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, cornstarch, and salt. Add the yolks, 2 at a time, stirring and mixing in between each addition. Add the lemon juice when all the yolk is incorporated into the flour mixture.

Pour the cream cheese mixture in. Make sure that it has cooled enough so that it doesn’t cook the egg yolk! Blend with electric mixer till smooth and no chunks can be seen.

Egg white mixture:

  • 6 egg whites, room temperature
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 3/4-1 cup granulated sugar

Combine the egg whites and cream of tartar in a separate, clean bowl. This is very important! If there’s any yolk residues or water mixed in with the egg whites, the egg whites won’t fluff up!

With a clean mixer, blend and whip the thing till bubbly.

Add the sugar in 3-4 parts, beating and whipping till soft peak forms.

Now stir the egg whites mixture in 3 parts into the yolk mixture, stirring quickly and lightly in between to combine.

Wrap your springform pans with aluminum foil to prevent water from leaking in.

Line the pan with parchment paper (you can cut out the shapes), then pour the mixture in. Drop the pan a few times from half foot a one foot up onto the table to get rid of the excess air trapped inside the mixture.

Fill a shallow baking pan halfway with water and submerge the cake pan into the water. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, then lower heat to 300 degrees and bake for another hour. During this hour, make sure to open the oven door every 10 minutes or so to let out some heat and prevent the cake from cracking!

If the top is browning too much during the baking process, you can cover the top with aluminum foil.

When done baking, let cool for a few minutes. Release the springform and peel off the parchment paper. When completely cool, let sit in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours, or overnight.

~~~

I tried the cake 2-hr after and the morning after. They taste sooo different! The 2-hr after cake was definitely more spongey, airy, and had more of that melt-in-your-mouth texture. The cake the morning after is slightly denser, but still velvety! I love both kinds of flavors and textures!

Obviously I didn’t know how to follow instructions and poured in the hot cream cheese mixture into my yolk mixture way too soon. Specks of yellow = cooked eggs 😦

Does anyone have any idea how to get rid of the flashlight spots? I use a digital SLR.

Between the two of us (Dmitri and I) in the last 24 hours (although he ate most of it..haha). Owning and still going!!!

I also tackled this guy today:

Wasabi peas!

We’ve been having this long and ongoing conversation about wasabi peas in the lab since the start of summer (you can tell we talk about food all the time in my lab, probably more than we talk about science ;-)). I suggested that we keep a couple of bags of those so that we can stuff them into our mouths whenever we need a sinus-clearing wake-up call (or for the purpose of a congested sinus if you will).

So finally this past weekend my research advisor stopped by an Asian market (99 ranch) and got the wasabi peas, Taiwan brand! I stuffed all 10 or so of those little peas pictured in my hand into my mouth all at once…

I had forgotten how tear-jerking, sinus-clearing those were.

I ate one or at most two at once for the remainder of the day.

—————–

+ Are you a fan of wasabi? Love that stuff! I like to mix alot of it into my soy sauce for some sushi-dippage!

Tagged: , ,

§ 16 Responses to Cheesecake and Wasabi

  • This cheesecake even looks lighter in the photographs! Definitely sounds like something worth trying πŸ™‚

  • I do NOT like wasabi. I used to “like” mustard because of how low-cal it was, but I didn’t realise how much I actually don’t like it. It’s waaaaaay too spicy for me. My mom got wasabi’d peanuts in Taiwan, and once when I was hungry I grabbed a couple… sadly I sort of died and never touched them again.

    And… can you give me the link to that recipe? And what other Taiwanese blogs do you read? I’m curious!

    Wei-Wei

  • jqlee says:

    OMG, i LOVE wasabi. i use it in my sashimi of course and i looove wasabi peas. i can eat a bag full of it despite my mouth being on fire.

  • kat says:

    I love cheesecake it is by far the best dessert!! I like the fact that u said this recipe is lighter than traditional cheesecake. Usually after cheesecake I feel so stuffed I have to put on sweats lol! I can’t wait to try your recipe, it looks wonderful!! I however do not do spicy, so no wasabi for me!!

  • kbwood says:

    WOW i seriously dont like cheesecake but yours looks AWEEESOME!!! and i love wasabi!! SO good with sushi πŸ™‚

  • Monet says:

    I can see how light this cheesecake is, and it looks amazing. While I love the taste of cheesecake, I don’t like how heavy it feels in my stomach. I think this just might be the perfect solution to that problem!

  • Oh wow, that cheesecake recipe looks amazing! I like cheesecake but it’s usually too dense for me, so this recipe is a must-try for me in the near future! πŸ™‚

    I do like wasabi, but not very much or very often. I think wasabi in Japan has a milder taste than the wasabi here in Canada – kind of seems like here it’s more of a novelty for the heat factor?

  • totally though u were gonna mix wasabi in ur cheesecake haha ❀

  • Megan says:

    I do not like wasabi, but I do like cheesecake!! =P
    Thanks for the awesome recipe love πŸ™‚

  • thehungryscholar says:

    What a beautiful cheesecake. It looks so fluffy. I want to lick the computer screen.

  • I love cheesecake but I haven’t made it in so long because once I make it, I cannot stop myself from just eating and eating and eating! At least with this recipe I won’t feel AS full afterwards. πŸ˜‰

  • ooh, i wonder if i’d like this kind of cheesecake! people look at me like i’m crazy when i say how much i dislike cheesecake (but love the strawberries on top, of course). it’s just so dense and…well…cheesy…to me. but this looks wonderfully light! i will have to remember this.

    and the spots you’re talking about from the camera – are they from overhead lights, or your flash? i’m assuming overhead light since there are two and the light in the rest looks pretty consistent – but try diffusing your flash somehow if it’s from a flash. they make actual pop-up flash diffusers, but try just holding a sheet of paper in front of it to see if it helps. if it’s not a flash, i think really the only way to get rid of the glare is just move to where they’re not as visible or change your angle.

  • dianacheung says:

    So i’m obsessed with wasabi peas but i recently discovered sriatchi peas at Target!! Get them stat! Also have you tried wasabi EDAMAME?????

  • That cheesecake looks wonderful! I am a huge fan of cheesecake. ❀

    Ooh wasabi peas are the best! I love em. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cheesecake and Wasabi at Om Sweet Om.

meta

