Let’s go fly a kite

July 10, 2010 § 23 Comments

With tuppence for paper and strings

You can have your own set of wings

With your feet on the ground


You’re a bird in a flight

With your fist holding tight
To the string of your kite

Oh, oh, oh!
Let’s go fly a kite

Up to the highest height!

Let’s go fly a kite and send it soaring

Up through the atmosphere

Up where the air is clear

Oh, let’s go fly a kite!

You have to admit the Mary Poppins is one of the best movies around. When we bought our kite from Target yesterday, all I was thinking about was this song from the movie. Anyone seen the actual musical? Really want to go see it!

Our kite flying adventure was super fun–I felt like I was 10 again! We actually didn’t have much trouble setting the kite to flight since it was very windy at Santa Monica today. Well, I guess it’s windy everyday there.

While the little boy ran around some more with the kite, I kicked back on the beach and did a little reading.

I’ve only read a few chapters, but so far so good! I’ll be filling you guys in when I get through more of it 😉

I was disappointed that it was muggy today at the beach 😦 And chilly too!

Anyways, while walking back to the car, we saw a few guys who caught a crab and something that looks like a shark. Is that even legal?! I mean, they’re not actual fishermen or anything.

Apparently, today was also some sort of “Anti-BP day”, and we saw this little protest going on.

Spiderman was also present to do some justice, fight crime, you know, the snizzles.

Before the kite-flying adventure, the two of us brave kite-flyers trekked through the Santa Monica Farmers Market in the morning. Lots of people, lots of fun, lots of sampling! I had so many sweet and juicy nectarines, plums, peaches, and grapefruits. They were unearthly good! All certified organic too! Alas, they were a little bit pricey for my taste :-(…approximately $3 per pound. So I only got two peaches for Dmitri and I that costed me $2.50. I couldn’t wait to try one so I immediately bit into one after the purchase ;-). Delicious!

I also got myself some dried strawberries. No sugar, no preservatives. All natural.

These tasted like jam in your mouth! Swoon. But again, 1/8 measly of a pound for $3.25. It was about one large handful.

Since we were around the area, we also strolled through the well-known Promenade on 3rd street.

The street was lined with shops, restaurants, and people. In fact, I think it’s the perfect place to people-watch. Anyone else have that embarrassing habit other than myself? I love to observe. I’m not trying to be creepy or anything, but I just enjoy seeing the different types of people, wearing various styles of clothings, how they walk, who they’re with, and I also like to think up of little stories for each person I observe.

We also saw this cute little house with a beautiful garden!

After much walking, Dmitri suggested that we take the bus to Westwood, which is where UCLA is, for some eats.

Westwood!

We settled on a little cozy restaurant called Falafel King. For $8.95, we got this much food:

I ordered the Vegetarian Favorite which consisted of 5 crispy patties of falafels (<3 ❤ <3), fried zucchini slices, 2 warm pita, and 5 sides. For my sides I chose mixed salad greens, peppers and tomatoes salad, hummus (!!!!), marinated mushrooms, and three of these grapeleaves things stuffed with rice.

It was so much food. Dmitri got the same thing but different sides: avocado, cucumbers in yogurt sauce, eggplants, lentil salad, and onion & pepper salad. We shared everything and everything was yummy! 😀

Our plates were left to this:

Just too much food! We got a box to pack our leftover food for dinner, which I just finished. Hahah! 😀

Dmitri wanted to take me to Diddy Riese’s, which supposedly has the best ice cream sandwiches, where you can build your own ice cream sandwich by choosing your cookies and ice cream. There was a line outside the store when we got there, but eventually decided we were too full to handle an ice cream sandwich. Oh well, next time we’ll know to save a little tummy room for dessert ;-).

Afterwards we just took the bus back to Santa Monica and then off to kite-flying! So much for my day in chronological order! 😛

I’m off to vegging out on the couch like a normal person would do on a Saturday night 😉

—————————-

+ Are the items from your local farmer’s markets expensive or cheap? There is one Farmer’s Market in Claremont that opens every Sunday. The fruits and produce are slightly cheaper than the ones at Santa Monica, but I’m not sure whether all of them are certified organic. As much as I love Farmer’s Market, it’s not a place where I would do my weekly grocery shopping at. I can’t afford that with my budget!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 23 Responses to Let’s go fly a kite

  • Crystal says:

    I love the garden in front of that house! Very colorful. It kind of makes me happy just to look at it, haha.

    And you MUST go back to Diddy Riese’s! I didn’t believe all the hype about it, but it really is quite delicious. I’m a bit biased though because cookies and ice-cream are a couple of my favorite things. 🙂

  • CourtandWhit says:

    The pictures of your kite flying reminded me of the Kite Runner! It looks like you had a blast 🙂 I actually have seen Mary Poppins the musical. I saw it in London. It was the best performance ever!

    I am so jealous that you went to a Farmer’s Market. I have yet to go to one this Summer 😛

    -Court

  • edenseats says:

    Hey girl, I didnt realize you live in LA! I live in westwood! Bloggie meetup????

  • Sorry the beach day was anything but sunny! But the kite flying looks like so much fun! I loved flying kites as a kid! And have no idea how many we actually went through because we’d accidently let them get away from us… lol

  • Efi says:

    Wow your pictures make such an interesting story.
    So good you had all this fun!

  • Megan says:

    Everything about this post was absolutely gorgeous! The kite flying, the house with the flowers… oh and I want to try dried strawberries now!

  • Love the kite opener to this post! And yeah, most farmer’s markets I’ve been to can be expensive…I usually do what you did, and treat myself just a little bit!

  • Michelle says:

    I don’t have a farmers market around here, but I always thought they were supposed to be cheaper then the organic produce at the stores??

  • Wei-Wei says:

    Kite flying! Gosh, I haven’t been in AGES. I think this warrants a windy day soon 🙂

    Wei-Wei

  • These pictures are so gorgeous 🙂 Looks like a ton of fun, too! And that shark thing is terrifying looking. I think I would have a panic attack if I saw it while swimming.
    Those dried strawberries look and sound great – come to think of it, I don’t think I’ve ever had a dried strawberry?!
    My farmer’s market isn’t expensive in the sense of overpriced, but is compared to the supermarket. But, in my eyes – worth it!!

  • highonhealthy says:

    Love all the pictures! I’ve actually never seen Mary Poppins so while I enjoyed reading the lyrics, I had no idea where you got them from!

    The Farmer’s Market here is pretty decently priced and I actually don’t mind spending a little extra to support local and organic produce. That market sounds too pricey for even me though..

    • I’ve actually linked the lyrics to a YouTube clip of that song. You can go check it out if you want :-). I also highly recommend you to watch Mary Poppins if you get the chance. I think you’ll like it!

  • I haven’t flown a kite since I was a kid. Looks like a lovely day. Love the idea of those strawberries. When I think of dried strawberries, I think of those horrid crisp things in cereals. Thanks so much for taking the time to stop by my blog. I am enjoying reading through yours!

  • that spiderman gets around lol!! haha

    omg i love that you went kite flying!! and i love ur kite flying outfit! you are so cute its crazy haha!

    i wish i could go to Falafel King right now.. id settle for a Falafel Queen even if they had one lol

    btw. that shark freaked me out!
    hmm i thankfully found 2 markets that are SO DIRT CHEAP with the best local and organic produce. thank god, cuz some places have me worried!

    xoxo

  • Michal says:

    I have to say I am so jealous! How delicious does your spread from the Falafel King look? I really wish that we had a place like that near me. I love love love falafel. In fact I just had some the other day 🙂

  • thehungryscholar says:

    Um, flying a kite is a great idea. I get bored a lot, so I need to add this to the list. I find it so relaxing!

  • squigglefloey says:

    We actually have a farmer’s market right across my apartment in Irvine, but I’ve never been there because I usually go home on wknds. That kite is adorable by the way. I had been meaning to fly one over the summer 😛

    Floey

  • Monet says:

    Yes, let’s! I loved seeing these pictures…it seems like you had a wonderful adventure. The Vegetarian Favorite looked so good, by the way! I would have needed to share though!

  • […] of energy! Which is kind of weird since I only got 7 hours of sleep last night. Maybe it was the kite-flying on Saturday that lifted my spirits for the week, or the ample amount of rest I got on Sunday. No […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Let’s go fly a kite at Om Sweet Om.

meta

