Did you know…?

July 17, 2010 § 14 Comments

I know, I know. I’ve been gone for too long. Two days in the real world is equivalent to 2 weeks in the blogland. Hah, I feel like I’m referencing Inception.Β  GREAT movie by the way. It really got my mind all out of whack when I left the theaters last night. I swear I was in some sort of daze for 20 min afterwards, just thinking about the complexity of the mind, the conscious, the subconscious, the super-subconscious, the super super-subconscious…

Personally, I think the mind has nth dimensions.

Well, I don’t want to give too much of a spoiler for those who haven’t seen it yet. It’s something that you must pay attention to for the entire length of the movie, or else you can get easily confused. I don’t think I’ve ever concentrated so hard on a movie before. Ever.

So two weeks two days away from the blogland naturally ended with me having way too many pictures to share, so I’ll just give ya’ll some highlight ;-).

Did you know that cottage cheese melts superbly when heated up?

Lunch #1: Frozen veggies and spinach thawed in the fridge overnight, topped with cottage cheese, and microwaved till melty when lunchtime came.

Did you know that thawed frozen spinach is delicious with marinara and cottage cheese (melted)?

Lunch #2: Spinach w/ cottage cheese and TJ's Garlic Marinara sauce.

Melty and cheesy!

Did you know that you can make pesto out of arugula?

Roasted Squash with Arugula Pesto

(Recipe inspired from here; the arugula pesto from the back of the package of arugula)

First blanch about 2 cups of packed arugula in boiling water. Immediately plunge into cold water to stop the cooking process. Drain and use your hands to squeeze dry the leaves.

Two squished cups of arugula into one fistful!

About 1/4 cup of toasted pine nuts.

Blend in food processor the arugula, toasted pine nuts, some salt and pepper, a dash of cumin. Blend till you get a mushy paste. Then add olive oil till desired consistency (I added about 1/3 cup)

Kind of chunky pesto...

Also roasted some butternut squash at 350 degrees for 45 min, sprinkled with cumin.

Golden.

Roasted squash says: "Gimme the pesto and more pine nuts please!"

Complete meal with a side of Swiss chard sauteed with onions, crushed red pepper flakes and garlic.

Tip: roasted butternut squash is also very good topped with butt loads of parmesan cheese!

Did you know that I got a tub of mini plums for $3 (~a dozen) at the Farmer’s Market at La Verne on Thursday evening?


Did you know that I am currently obsessed with anything cheese + fruit related?

Sliced up and ready to be sandwiched.

Plum with Laughing Cow cheese on Sandwich thin. Yum!

Speaking of the Farmer’s Market, there was some sort of “petting” area filled with goats, pigs, chickens, and bunnies there?

What can I say? It was a sight to see. I felt horribly sorry for the animals, because there were literally a dozen or more 3-8 year old kids in this tiny pen, all chasing after some animal or the other. Of course, there were lots of shrieking involved as the children ran after the bunnies.

At least this little girl seemed gentle enough to the chickens.

Did you know that Chai Spice totally blew my mind away?

Obviously, I needed something to munch on while I read this boring exhilarating paper. Upon first bite I was taken back to when I first tried chai tea. This bar totally captured the essence and the spice of a warm or cold cup of chai tea!

Needless to say, my last Kardea bar was pretty darn amazing too–the Lemon Ginger. I am now a sad little girl because I have finished all my Kardea bars :-(.

I loved all of the flavors of these Kardea bars. They are true to their words in terms of flavors. Each bar was unique in its taste and with each bite you always get hit by its intense aroma of either chai, ginger, almond, or banana. I am a satisfied taste-tester! πŸ˜€

Anyways…

Did you know that last night, my boyfriend and I went to a Thai restaurant, where we were constantly attacked by flies, and the waitress was swatting them just a table next to ours? Um…yeah. Not a very enticing atmosphere. The food sort of made up for it though, but I don’t think I’d go back to get attacked by flies or the fly-swatting lady again.

Hah! Dmitri was trying to act “Asian.”

My turn. I always laugh at the instructions on the chipstick slips.

I don’t know why I had that surprised look on my face. LOL I looked like a dork.

Thai salad: Iceberg lettuce, cucumbers, carrots, onions, hard-boiled egg, with spicy peanut sauce. Plain, simple. The spicy peanut sauce was good though!

Pad-see-ewe: flat rice noodles stir-fried with Chinese broccoli and tofu.

Vegetable medley with rice.

And this! My fav dish: rice biscuit stir-fried with bean sprouts, eggs, and came with hot sauce. The lady said it was house-specialty.

Chewy and sticky.

Did you know that this wrap made the perfect post-run breakfast this morning?

Banana + PB with cinnamon on a La Tortilla wrap, pan-fried till crispy. Side of yogurt for some dipping action!

Gooey and melty inside!

That pretty much sums up the past couple of days when I was MIA. We’re off whale-watching off the coast of Newport Beach this afternoon! Since it’s blue whales season, I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll get to see some blue whales! πŸ˜€

Have a great Saturday!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 14 Responses to Did you know…?

  • Kat says:

    I wish you would come over and take some of this pie! I dont need to be eating it all myself! Haha. It is sitting in my fridge calling to me now…fight the urge Kat! And no I didnt make it up, it was my gmas recipe that I re-worked a bit πŸ™‚

    Love the pics of you and the boy! And that breakfast looks oh so delish. I love La Tortillas. So perfect for everything!!

  • Megan says:

    I love how you said 2 days = 2 weeks in blogland, sooo true! I feel like I’ve been gone for ages sometimes and then I realize it’s been mere days. Your wrap looks pretty amazing. And so does that pesto!! Pesto is so perfect for summer.

  • Monet says:

    I’m sorry about the fly experience…we had a similar dining moment last week (not appetizing at all). I’m glad that you enjoyed Inception because I think we are going to go and see it tonight…I’ve only heard good things! And I had no idea cottage cheese got so melty. Yay!

  • I love squash and I love pesto, why have I not tried these together?? That looks really good πŸ™‚ yumm

  • I so know what you mean about time flying by in blogland. If I miss more than 2 days, I get so overwhelmed by my blog reader! πŸ˜›

    All that Thai food looks delicious! I hate having a nut allergy because I can never eat at Thai restaurants!!

  • highonhealthy says:

    Blogland time definitely flies by quicker than real time! When I went to post yesterday I was worried about having taken so much time away from the blog.. then I saw that my last post was only 3 days ago. It definitely felt longer though!

    I saw the trailer for Inception and it looks so trippy!! I can’t wait to see it. πŸ˜€

  • I actually had no idea that cottage cheese got that melty!! I must try it next time πŸ™‚ I am really jealous of your plum finds, too.
    The Chai Spice was my favorite Kardea bar, too. I think I said that earlier, but oh well, haha. It’s so good that it deserves reiterating!!

  • I actually did NOT know that about cottage cheese. Thanks for sharing! And thanks also for recommending Inception…might have to check that out before I leave πŸ˜‰

  • Wei-Wei says:

    I love the photos of you in the restaurant πŸ˜€ You’re too cute! The name of the dish Pad See Ew always makes me laugh out loud. For obvious reasons. πŸ˜› I’m immature πŸ˜€

    Wei-Wei

  • Haha you are right about the two days in blog-world.

    Thanks for the melted cottage cheese tip!

    Poor animals, the look so cute but unhappy.

    You are beautiful in these pictures! I hate flies in restaurants, not good for my appetite πŸ™‚

  • kbwood says:

    HOW FUN GIRL!! you and the boy are SO cute btw! cottage cheese melts? ARE YOU SERIOUS? why didnt i ever think of that??!! genious girlfrand!! also- that wrap sounds incredible!

  • […] I couldn’t resist. This week has been such a good week for me in terms of steals, from the $3 locally grown and organic plums to this Hugh Jass box of blueberries. Life is […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Did you know…? at Om Sweet Om.

meta

