You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

July 23, 2010 § 21 Comments

You make me happy, when skies are gray

You’ll never know dear, how much I love you

Please don’t take my sunshine away.

When I saw these gorgeous sunflowers at the Farmer’s market last night, I knew I had to get them. $5 for a bouquet of sunflowers? That’s definitely a steal! Sunflowers are my fav and I thought it’d brighten my home :D.

Other finds from the Farmer’s market:

KETTLE CORN!!! Zucchini ($1.00/lb), OKRAS!!!, and a huge package of ground flaxseeds for $4 only! I was very very pleased :mrgreen:.

I had a killer breakfast after my run this morning…pancakes! It’s a new recipe that I jotted down before I went to bed last night.

Amazing Banana Surprise Oatmeal Pancakes

  • 1/3 cups oats
  • one egg white (3 Tbs)
  • one scoop chocolate protein powder (15 g)
  • one scoop Amazing Grass Chocolate Infusion
  • 2-3 Tbs almond milk (or any other milk you like)
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • a pinch of salt
  • sliced bananas

Mix everything except the bananasΒ  in a bowl, and let sit for a couple of minutes. Spray a pan with cooking spray, and heat it up on medium-high heat. Once the oil is heated, turn heat down the medium. Scoop out about 2 Tbs of mixture for each pancakes (I made 3 small ones). Place one sliced banana in the middle of each pancake. Let it cook for about two minutes before flipping the pancakes over. Cook for another 2 min.

Arrange pancakes on a plate. Serve with your favorite toppings and devour!

I topped mine with watered down PB2 so that it has a runny consistency.

The amazing pancakes were accompanied by some sweet peaches and yogurt.

Banana surprise! (I had lousy picture-taking skills this morning)

Because of the Amazing Grass I did see some green specks in my pancakes. Some greens in the early morning don’t hurt right? Besides, I know all of you like downing Green monster smoothies in the morning too!

Yowza, these pancakes made me feel suuuppppperrrr energetic and awake afterwards!

Anyhooz, thanks Wei-Wei for notifying me that the cartoons that I posted in my last post weren’t showing up. Hopefully I’ve fixed it! Take a break, get some LOL’s in your system here.

Oh Friday…you are beautiful.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 21 Responses to You are my sunshine, my only sunshine

  • kat says:

    Pretty flowers!! Love the awesome looking pancakes! Gosh I am such a pancake lover its ridiculous. And the little naner surprise is so sweet and delish looking!!

  • Sunflowers are my favorite too- they brighten everything up. If I’m having a bad day, all I need to do is look @ sunflowers & they make me smile πŸ™‚
    Happy Friday!!

  • kaztronomic says:

    I love flowers. Those are so lovely! Looks like you had a successful trip to the farmers’ market. =)

    Mmm, those pancakes look yummy!

  • Aw I used to love that song when I was a kid πŸ™‚

    Your pancakes look amazingggg (no pun intended). And I found okra the other day too & was so excited!

  • Monet says:

    You and your flowers are beautiful. Priceless! And I love okra so so much…I wish I could find some fresh okra around here. It is one of my favorite vegetables and reminds me of my sweet grandmother.

  • Crystal says:

    There is no way to not smile when you see those flowers! They are so colorful.

    After I get my hands on some protein powder, I MUST try this pancake recipe.

  • eatmovelove says:

    Hi! Just found your blog through Kelly’s – the name got me πŸ™‚ I love it – great pics! and those cartoons below are JUST what I needed haha!

  • !! We DO have the same titles for our posts today πŸ˜‰ But referring to two very different things. Those flowers are gorgeous though. I love the smell and energy that fresh flowers can add to a room. And the pancakes look deeeelish. One day, when I can actually break away from my bowls of oats, pancakes are going to be the first things I try and make πŸ™‚

  • Megan says:

    Gorgeous flowers! And I lovelovelove kettle corn. Tomorrow I am planning to make pancakes then hit up the farmer’s market, and this post got me excited!! =P

  • Wei-Wei says:

    Those pancakes sound sooooo good, and the PB sauce looks even better. πŸ˜€ Thanks for fixing the pics! Going over to check them out for some laughs right now πŸ˜‰

    Wei-Wei

  • kbwood says:

    oh my gosh those flowers are BEAUTIFUL girlfrand!! I love sunflowers!! soo cute! I LOVE PANCAKES TOO!!!! love the PB2 drizzle! It aint no PB.. but it does the trick for the moment atleast!

  • holy shit i gotta make these!! WOW

  • Run Sarah says:

    Gorgeous flowers! The pancakes look SO good, yum.

  • CourtandWhit says:

    Woah chicka! Those pancakes look amazingly good and healthy. I love the idea of adding the amazing meal to them. You totally just gave us some great recipe ideas now. Yay πŸ™‚ Also, your shirt is Adorable. I have heard a lot about PB2, do you know the best place to buy it?

  • Chelsey says:

    oh my goodness these look soooooooooooooo good!!!!! need to make – seriously!!!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog – I added you to my reader!

  • Adorable flower pictures! And the pancakes also look very tasty. I love post-run pancakes but am often too lazy to make them so props for that, too.

    I never understand kettle corn at farmer’s markets, but I’d never oppose it either haha

  • sophia says:

    GAH!!! Now you got that song stuck in my head! lol.

    Kettle corn smells SO good while they are popping merrily away. I think it’s part of that fragrance, and the happy sounds it makes that livens up farmers markets. πŸ™‚

  • highonhealthy says:

    Those pancakes look delicious! I really like the idea of incorporating the Amazing Grass powder into them.. I may experiment with that.. πŸ™‚

    I hope you’re having a fabulous weekend!

  • wow those flowers are beautiful!! and okra too!!? holy yum πŸ™‚ love me some good okra.
    delicious pancakes too – enjoy your sunday!!

  • Lindsay says:

    Sunflowers just make me so happy. They’re so bright and sweet. Have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading You are my sunshine, my only sunshine at Om Sweet Om.

meta

