Definition of a best friend

July 27, 2010 § 23 Comments

A best friend is someone who you know inside out and upside down.

A best friend is someone who knows you inside out and upside down.

A best friend is someone who doesn’t judge you.

A best friend is someone who you know for sure was your sister/brother in your past life.

A best friend is someone who you may not always hang out with, but know that she/he is always there when you need her/him.

A best friend is someone who points out your mistakes and flaws in the kindest, nonjudgamental ways.

A best friend is someone who you can trust your life with.

A best friend is someone who you can talk with for hours and hours on little and big things.

A best friend is someone who you share all your dreams with.

A best friend is someone who knows when to listen and when to talk.

A best friend is the first person who you tell or call if you’ve had a bad day, good news, or just because.

A best friend is someone who you can sit beside in silence and have the greatest conversation ever.

A best friend is someone who can almost always read your thoughts, and you hers/his.

A best friend is someone who you’d like to see and hug everyday.

A best friend is someone who’s left footprints in your heart.

Yesterday while Dmitri was on Kramster (a website where kids can ask any questions, ranging from math problems to proofreading an essay, and others answer), he came across a kid asking, “What is the definition of a best friend?” Whether the kid was fooling around or he really doesn’t know, I have no idea. How sad would it be to not know what a best friend is? I met my best friend when I was 10, and we’re still as tight as ever even if we’re 400 miles apart. Meeting my best friend was the best thing that happened to me.

+ Feel free to add to the list!

~~~

Quickie post of today’s eats:

Oats with almond milk and egg whites beat in. Oh my , egg whites made everything sooo voluminous! It was almost twice the volume of yesterday’s oats!

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 egg white
  • half a peach, chopped
  • 2 dried apricots, chopped
  • salt
  • cinnamon

The toppings today were the other half of the peach, passion mango butter, and a blob of sunflower seed butter.

Okay, seriously, why did I wait so long to try chopped dried apricots in oats? I think Jess had already raved about them countless times. Now I truly know how amazing they are in hot oatmeal!

I enjoyed every last bite of it with some tea…

…which came with a really nice quote!

You’ll be seeing alot of mish-mash of foods because I’m trying to clean out the fridge before I leave for Taiwan tomorrow!

Random salad with spinach and arugula, mashed sweet potato with black beans, leftover veggies from yesterday, roasted zucchini and roasted eggplants, and humnut dressing.

When I came home today, there was total power outage throughout the entire apartment community! Bummer 😦 I had dinner planned and marinating in the fridge, but no oven or stove! We decided to pull the emergency plan: Souplantation! It was good that we had a coupon too, so the buffet for two came down to $15 total.

They were supposed to get the power fixed by 8pm, but didn’t come on till about half an hour ago! We were living in the dark for an hour or so. Well, with a flashlight. We proceeded to playing this cute little game in the dark (with flashlight):

Halfway through, the light came on.

Check out Dmitri’s hands…

:mrgreen:

Okay. It’s way past my bedtime! Need to hit the sack soon! Nighty night!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

§ 23 Responses to Definition of a best friend

  • Monet says:

    I adore scrabble…and yogi tea (which I think is what you were drinking earlier today). I loved this post because it made me appreciate all the close friends I have in my life. Thank you for reminding us to value those who love and treasure us!

  • jqlee says:

    Have a safe trip!!

  • kaztronomic says:

    My fella is a scrabble fiend. It’s like he makes up words out of thin air, and I think he’s trying to pull a fast one on me, but nope: he’s really that smart.

    That quote was beautiful. I really like it, and I want to try harder to apply it to my life. =)

    Oooh, dried apricots on oats! That does sound genius! I must try it soon! πŸ˜€

  • Chelsey says:

    If Souplantation is the same as Sweet Tomatoes, I am soooo jealous!!!! I love that place! I almost requested going there for my birthday, but it was my dad’s birthday too and he is a meat and potatoes kind of guy. πŸ™‚

    A best friend doesn’t judge.
    A best friend knows your problems before you even realize them yourself.

    I have 2 besties – can’t imagine my life without them! One of them I have been friends with since I was 3. We were the friends who said, “We’re going to grow up together, go to college together, live together, be in each other’s weddings…” etc. We did all of that! My other bestie I met my freshman year of college and we are the same person. I love her so much! She’s actually coming in today for my wedding on Friday – I can’t wait for her to get here!!!

    Have fuuun in Taiwan!!!

  • dianacheung says:

    so jealous!! I haven’t been back to china in a long time! Can’t wait to see your adventures!

  • Aw what a cute list! I have some things to add!

    – A best friend is someone who you can be your true self around
    – A best friend is someone who you can be a total goof with
    – A best friend is someone who knows what is best for you

    I always secretly wish my power would go out so that I could sit around with my friends in the dark and play board games by candlelight. Sometimes I get so sick of relying on the tv/computer/movies for entertainment!

  • Kat says:

    I totally went to souplantation yesterday for the first time in my life! I loved it πŸ™‚

  • Aww love all the best friends def’s. So true! And I’ll add:
    A best friend is someone who’s seen you at your worst, but still thinks you’re the best.

    That shot of Dmitri’s hand makes me laugh. I’m not sure if I’ve ever had one THAT bad, but there’ve been so many times where I’ve had like all vowels, or all the crazy consonants like X,Y,Z… good times.

  • Ooooh I love Scrabble!! Unfortunately for me, nobody else here does, so I never get to play. 😦

    ❀ ❀

  • I can NOT get over the fact that we’ll be leaving for our trips at almost the same time (I leave Friday). So terrific, and you’re going to have an amazing time. I will DEFINITELY be reading your blog as much as I can.

    I loved the opening to this post, and I also love that you played Scrabble by flaslight! To the extent that if I were home longer, I’d insist MY best friend and I do that even with full power πŸ˜‰

  • teenagehealthfreak says:

    Beautiful pics!! “A best friend is hard to find..and impossible to forget.” I like this post. πŸ™‚ and wow..TAIWAN..no fair. lol..have fun!

  • oh my gosh that salad looks sooo good! I’m starving now! πŸ™‚

    I’m also craving apricots, ha!

  • Mary says:

    This was a great post today. I’m new to your blog so I took a bit of time to read some of your earlier entries. I’m so glad I did. I really like your recipes and the tone of your blog. I’ll be back often. I hope you are having a wonderful day. Blessings…Mary

  • Megan says:

    Aww great post! It made me smile! And I looove Scrabble πŸ™‚

  • What a sweet post! Love it and the food looks absolutely amazing as well!

    xo

  • Tina says:

    I love the best friend statements. Such a special relationship!

    I have had hands like that in Scrabble. It’s the worst!

  • sophia says:

    It’s tough to find a best friend. It takes time, commitment, and a real, developing relationship. A best friend is also one whose relationship with you is constantly evolving for the better πŸ˜€

  • thehungryscholar says:

    I bought my bf a travel Scrabble board that we bring into coffee shops while we study. I love it! It makes studying fun!

  • AWEEEEEEE ❀ ❀

    best friends are rare to come by!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Definition of a best friend at Om Sweet Om.

meta

