Muesli Chocolate Chip Cookies

August 4, 2010 § 32 Comments

Back in the days when I was still a little kid (how I wish I could turn back time!), I would go to this one summer camp year after year. Like any summer camps, we had our camp songs that we would sing near and dear to our hearts. I remember so clearly that Tuesdays and Thursdays were Pool Days, meaning we got to go on the school bus and go on a field trip to the swimming pool! On those days, we would sing this song:

Swimming, swimming, in the swimming pool
The day is hot, the day is cold, in the swimming pool!
Breath stroke, side stroke, fancy diving too
But don’t you wish you can have, anything else to do!

This morning, I did just that! I went swimming at the pool in our community. And by swimming, i didn’t mean your splish-splash type, but swimming laps. It’s a great total-body workout!

[picture]

I did about 35 min of alternating free-style and breath strokes.

True story: I used to be deathly scared of water when I was little. I took my first swimming lesson when I was 6 or so. I accidentally swallowed and choked on lots of water, and refused to take another swimming lesson from then on. Finally during 3rd grade, we were required to take some sort of swimming lesson for our P.E. class. I had no choice but to face my fears as I, once again, tackled to put my head under water. I realized during that first class that I liked swimming. It felt so calm and serene under the water, and I loved the way that I could float around like I was in outer space.

+ What was a fear that you had as a kid, but had to face eventually?

After much bumming around in the house these past few days, I finally got to meet up with one of my high school friends today! For lunch, I requested we go to another vegetarian restaurant. :mrgreen:

The restaurant was located at the entrance/exit of a trail–just perfect for hungry hikers! But alas, we didn’t go hiking today (toooooooooo hot!), but I was still hangry from my swim in the morning!

Entrance/exit of a trail and to the restaurant.

Herb garden right outside the restaurant.

The tables in the restaurant were filled with sand, rocks, and shells.

For starter, we had a small salad with passionfruit dressing and pumpkin soup. Both are to die for!!! And I’m not even close to exaggerating.

Salad with passionfruit dressing.

Really really good pumpkin soup.

For my main course, I had Pumpkin Rice Noodles (very tasty!) that was loaded with mushrooms and veggies.

Pumpkin rice noodles

While my friend S got the Mushroom Risotto. Last time I was here I got this dish too, and it was the best risotto I’ve had. Ever. (Sorry for the blurry pic)

Mushroom risotto

The meal was followed by a light dessert, Lavendar Tea Jello, and iced tea with an apple slice!

Lavender Tea Jello with cream.

Lightly sweetened iced tea with apple slice.

I only managed to finish half of my  noodles, so I asked the waitress to pack it to-go for me, thinking that it’d make a yummy lunch another day. Ugh, and now I can’t believe I actually forgot it there! 😦

The heat made us want to hide in cold, air-conditioned buildings. What better ways to satisfy our needs to be cooled than hiding in a dark and chilly movie theater? Off we went to see some booty-kickin’ Angelina Jolie.

Like always, she totally rocked her role, and I was absolutely diggin’ her in the black hair!

We killed time at a mini arcade while waiting for the movie. S is the master of the master of these claw machines. I kid you not!

The results? Pacman and his little jellyfish friend. Actually, S managed to get me two jellyfishies 😀

~~

Okay, so here’s the moment you’ve all been waiting for–the recipe for the cookies I made yesterday.

Muesli Chocolate Chip Cookies

Wet

  • 1 cup Muesli
  • 1/2 whole wheat flour
  • 3-4 Tbsp chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Dry

  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup (or less) honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Preheat oven to 340 degrees. Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and mix thoroughly.

Then, in a separate bowl, combine all the wet ingredients and blend.

Add the dry to the wet and mix with spatula till only combined.

Drop by tablespoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet or lined with parchment paper, about 1 inch apart (they don’t rise much). Bake for 10-12 minutes.

These cookies are moist and chewy! One bite equals a chockful of grainy touch from the muesli!

Not enough salivating cues from this post? I leave you with this:

Matcha fluffy-shaved ice with sweet adzuki beans! The shaved ice has a melt-in-your-mouth texture. Enjoy! :mrgreen:

Tagged: , , ,

§ 32 Responses to Muesli Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • These cookies look SO amazing. Can you believe, though, that I’ve never had muesli?! And I’m about salivating from the pics at that restaurant. Everything looks delicious.
    When I was little I was always afraid of thunderstorms. I can’t say I love the ones we had earlier this year (practically tornadoes) but I love a pretty storm at night 🙂

  • SO much amazing food in this post!

    And one of my childhood fears, probably the most major one, was being away from home for too long! I could never sleep over friends’ houses for awhile without having to come home. Obviously that’s changed–it’s still a fear, but I challenge it for that reason 😉

    By the way, I’m still afraid to leave my apartment without getting lost (yilan is SO rural!) but, we have some free time in the evenings it seems. So who knows, maybe if I get it together I can see your community!

  • kaztronomic says:

    That restaurant looks amazing! It looks like one of those places that I could walk into and order straight off the menu and not worry about finding something in my dish that would make me sick. Too cool. 😀

    Those cookies look so delicious!

    Funny thing: I just tried adzuki beans for the first time today. They were really good! I read online (researched them before I made them) that people tend to not like them because they’re slightly sweet, but I loved them! It looks like they lend well to sweet recipes too, though — that matcha shaved ice looks like total yum with the beans. 😀

    When I was younger, I was terrified of handling raw meat, and it would make me cry. I can do it now, but only when I’ve run out of gloves and dinner needs to be made. Still skeeves me out, which is probably why I’m a veggie now. Hah.

  • Ohh I remember that song!! I love swimming, though. 😉 As a kid, I was terrified of speaking in public. I still am, come to think of it, even though I have to do it quite a bit!!

    ❤ ❤

  • My mom used to sing that swimming song to me as a kid! Awww. Brings back some good memories 🙂 And speaking of my mom… that was probably my biggest fear as a little kid… being away from her. I guess I had really bad separation anxiety, and I would cry and cry and cry whenever she left me anywhere. She had to quit her job and everything while I was really young. This ended, though, when I started school… she said that I spent the first month or so of school bawling my eyes out, but I guess I got over it. Good thing, too 😉

    Those cookies sound deeeeelish. Saved your recipe, and I’ll be making them very very shortly 🙂

  • Kat says:

    Heck yes for cookies. I love cookies so much. Cookies of all kinds. They just bring me joy 🙂 I am afraid I do not know what Museli is though 😦 Bad blogger huh?

  • pacman and jellyfish friendship!! ❤ aweee haha you are too adorable girl 🙂

    ive never even heard of this matcha and adzuki bean combo! what a strange looking meal but i'll take ur word for it when u say its SO GOOD 🙂

    uno whats really got me hungry? YOUR COOKIES!! holy damn ❤

    • really? you’ve never heard of that combo? it’s only like the most popular dessert combo in japan and Asia..hahaha. yeah, i guess we rarely see it on the Western end 😛 you should try it when you get a chance 😀

  • Monet says:

    Yes…so many amazing pictures of such delicious eats! I love any restaurant that has a garden out back (always a good sign!). And I have left leftovers in the restaurant far too many times. It is always such a disappointment when you get home and realize your next day’s lunch is probably still at your table. I wish I had one of those yummy cookies beside me now!

  • So cool that you overcame your fear of swimming. I used to be scared to death of flying in airplanes. I’ve since learned to deal with it, but still get a little tense before take-off!

    That restaurant looks really good and those cookies are on my “must-make” list for when I get back to the States! Being in Germany has totally gotten me addicted to muesli!

  • Wei-Wei says:

    Ahhhhhhhhh! I want to watch Salt SO bad. I love love love Angelina Jolie! (I’ll say it straight out at risk of being seen as lesbian – she’s hot. She’s badass. She’s just freaking awesome, kay?) Your cookies sound so yummy. Would it make a difference if you used oats instead of Muesli?

    Wei-Wei

  • Those cookies look great! Oh, and I’m dying to see Salt. I’d be going this weekend but, alas, a wedding calls. Angelina Jolie usually does rock those roles though.

  • brittac says:

    OMG – museli chocolate chip cookies? SIGN ME UP!!

    Love your blog! Your pumpkin noodles look AMAZING – i also HATE when I leave the leftovers! Sad day!

  • Haha I remember that song when I was younger! And you’d have to keep repeating it while replacing the words with actions. It got kind of repetitive after a while haha! 😛

    When I was younger I was super scared of thunderstorms! I would always crawl into my parents bed with them everytime one happened during the night. Now I mostly just sleep through them.

    That restaurant looks amazing! Ahh how I love pumpkin.

  • spoonfulofsugarfree says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m glad you enjoyed the guest post!

    And what in the world is that match shaved ice? Was it from a restaurant? Was it a main course?

  • kbwood says:

    ohhh my goodness those cookies look so good!! ALL of this stuff looks awesome, for real!! you making me hungry! the eats are so unique! keep having fun girl!

  • I loved both of your dishes. Oh these cookies….

  • Megan says:

    I’m officially drooling. That restaurant looks amazing! I would totally have gotten the pumpkin rice noodles too. Ooh and that meusli cookie recipe! I cannot wait to try it!!

  • teenagehealthfreak says:

    i am so jealous of that awesome crafty food they have there!!! i want some! looks/sounds so good! 🙂

  • I love reading your post, because the food is always gorgeous and I love your writing style. 😀

    The lavendar jello picture is making me melt. How awesome does that look?

    One of my main fears growing up was heights. And then I went to a summer camp that involved being tied to a harness and jumping from a thin wire, only to be caught at the bottom (a little like bungee jumping, but not going headfirst). It was the scariest, most invigorating thing I have EVER DONE.

  • highonhealthy says:

    So much cool food! That last one is trippy and doesn’t look like ice at all.

    I’m horrible at those claw machines and have spent tons of money while never winning a single thing. Ever. My sister has won once and my brother a few times but never me.

  • Lindsay says:

    I could not be trusted around those cookies. Girl they look awesome! I was afraid of birds when I was younger? I finally had to let it go because it really made me look so silly.

  • April says:

    Those cookies look great!

  • sophia says:

    PUMPKING rice noodles!!! Wow! That looks SO good! You know I love my pumpkin…but I would ask for a different kind of noodle because I hate vermicelli. The shaved ice looks really yummy, too!

    Funny thing…I was a fearless kid. I didn’t fear anything…even when I almost drowned a few times in the pool, I still jumped right back in.

  • Lori says:

    I have heard of matcha but isn’t it a powder? So weird! Love it though! And iced… on beans? You crazy girl, you. 😉

    love the cookies, too! I want one!

  • Oh My God…your food looks so yummy! I love matcha green tea and I love adzuki beans on my shaved ice too. I think I had the beans on shave ice everyday last year when we were in Hawaii. I try to make my own when I got home…it wasn’t the same. Probably because I didn’t want to use real sugar in making the adzuki bean paste.

    The color of the matcha dessert reminds of deep fried green tea ice cream they serve around here.

  • dianacheung says:

    omg you are making me want some ASIAN SWEETS sooo badddddd..

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Muesli Chocolate Chip Cookies at Om Sweet Om.

meta

