Moonwalking Taipei with Jenny

August 14, 2010 § 20 Comments

In the last post, I left you all hanging who I was meeting up today. Well, none other than the adorable Jenny! She’s here in Taiwan for the Fulbright program to teach English here. However, she is stationed in Yilan while I’m in Taipei. Thanks to the great mass transportation here, she was able to get to Taipei within an hour’s time via a bus that costed her about $3.00.

Before I headed out this morning, I had a new type of soymilk–matcha soymilk!!!

Although it’s only slightly sweetened, it was still a little bit too sweet for me. It was tasty nonetheless :mrgreen:

What kind of food blogger would I be if I didn’t bring some goodies? Aka food??? Of course I did!

These are blueberry jam roll-up cookies that I baked up this morning. My mom has these really nice packagings that I can put my cookies in to make them look store-bought. Not bad huh? šŸ˜‰Ā  Perhaps I should drop school and just start my own bakery. I kid.

The minute I met Jenny today, I was immediately charmed by her bubbly self. I knew this blogger meetup would come ever since I found her blog back in May. We hit it up right away because, well, I’m Taiwanese and she’s all curious about the country where she’ll be staying for 10 months.

Her bus dropped her off at Taipei City Hall, which is just way too convenient because it is right next to Taipei 101, one of the top tourist attractions.

Taipei 101--taken 2 summers ago.

Believe it or not, I have never gone to the top although it’s been completed since 2004. It lived a short life of being the tallest building in the world till the recent completion of Burj Khalifa in Dubai in January 2010. Finally, today, I got to see Taipei city through bird’s eye view.


It was a shame that the air quality today wasn’t at its greatest. Slightly smoggy, slightly foggy. I was trying to find where I live, but my poor geography intuition prevented me from spotting my home.

Despite the 360 view of Taipei City, I must say my favorite part was riding the elevator! We went from the 5th floor to the 89th floor (okay, so we’re not completely at the top) in a matter of 35 seconds. They claimed it to be the fastest elevator in the world.

Holy smokes! 1010 meters (~3313 ft)Ā  per minute? It was surprisingly quiet and smooth as well–so fast that my ears popped a couple of times while going up and down.

Here’s a model of the elevator:

Once in the elevator, the lights dimmed and “stars” of all colors appeared on the ceiling of the elevator. For some reason, I felt so calm in there as I became captured and mesmerized by the colorful stars spreading across the ceiling. 35 seconds in the elevator was not enough time!

Because the structure was so tall and Taiwan is actually earthquake prone, the mechanics and engineers were smart enough to install a damper inside the building.

More specifically, this is a tuned-mass damper, which helps to reduce vibrations caused by intense motions, such as earthquakes (yuck, I know, why am I talking about physics again?). Anyways, this was pretty much a gigantic ball hanging from the top of the building.

We were really hungry by the time our feet landed back on ground level again, as it was a little after 1 pm. We took an MRT (mass rapid transit system), sort of like your average metro or subway, to Cha for Tea, a restaurant/tea house with tea, light meals, and desserts. If you remember from this post, there are actually a few Cha for Tea’s scattered in California. But of course, the original branches in Taiwan are much much better!

I love the inside decor!

When we got there, it was close to 2 o’clock, and yet we were the 7th in waiting. That shows how popular this place is! I told Jenny that I have a selection of restaurants that I must go to everytime I come back to Taiwan, and this is one of them. We spent our waiting time efficiently by perusing their extensive menu first and decided what each of us wanted to get. It wasn’t till a little after 2:30pm that we got seated, but we already knew what we wanted! It also helped that the food came lightning fast! Always good for two voracious explorers :mrgreen:.

First up, a small and light salad:

Then came a very mild-tasting soup with a variety of mushrooms and bean sprouts in there. Loved it!

Not soon after that, the rest of our food came. We weren’t even done with our salads! I had braised Jasmine tofu as my side dish, and Rice with savory mushrooms and green tea for my main dish.

tofu

Jenny got the Braise Mushrooms with Sweet Osmanthus. I have no idea what osmanthus are, but you can check out her blog for pictures of her food!

We both got different desserts. I got green tea jello while Jenny got the green tea mango mousse. She’s on the mango craze lately, which is absolutely understandable because Taiwan has some of the best mangoes!!! Okay, maybe Malaysia or Phillipines or Indonesia have even yummier ones, but I’ve never had them before so Taiwan mangoes are the best I’ve had by far.

Green tea jello

Green tea mango mousse

It was 4 pm by the time we finished lunch (dinner?), and yet, there were still people filing into the restaurant!

Unfortunately, our day together had to end early. She had to head back home to finish some business for her Fulbright teaching program (Good luck Jenny!). Although it was a short get-together, I felt like we connected on multiple levels. I’m really excited as she begins exploring more and more of Taiwan and I know she’ll love this beautiful Formosa.

Next weekend will be my last weekend in Taiwan (!!!!!!!!). We may or may not be meeting up again next weekend, but I’ll definitely be back during the winter again! I feel like I just got here and just started my summer vacay, and here I am, almost closing in to my last days here. Ah well, I’ll just have to have more fun each and every day!!! You bet tomorrow will be another fun-filled day :D.

P.S. Jenny can do the moonwalk! I didn’t get to see her do it today, but she said she can actually teach me one day!

Have a great weekend!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 20 Responses to Moonwalking Taipei with Jenny

  • Britta says:

    What an amazing place! I want to go!!

  • Wei-Wei says:

    Oh my gosh, this is so awesome! I wish I was in Taiwan so I could meet up with you guys! šŸ˜¦ Too bad school is starting for me in a couple of days. I’m sure she’ll fall in love with our beautiful motherland too! šŸ˜› BTW: Osmanthus is gui hua, or ꔂ花. I’m SURE you’ve heard of it at some point! It smells amazing šŸ˜€

    Wei-Wei

    PS: Your cookies look completely professional. I am totally serious.

  • Kat says:

    How awesome that you had a blogger meetup in Taiwan!! Thats way cool. I just love all the post you have been sharing about your home. I am horrified of planes, so I live my travels through bloggers who share pictures! lol Maybe one day I will have the guts to leave the country via plane…

  • I love looking at your food! Honestly, I love the different cuisines in countries. Amazing what you can do with food!

  • That’s awesome that you both are in Taiwan at the same time! It looks like you had a fun day! Those cookies you made her are so cute. I love how you packaged them up. šŸ˜€

  • The place looks amazing.
    That soup made me decide to cook it tomorrow šŸ™‚

  • Oh wow, Taipei 101 looks too cool; I love the view of the city from the top! And that elevator sounds like an experience in itself.

    Glad you had an awesome afternoon with Jenny. How jealous am I that you can have blogger meet-ups in another city, and I can’t even have them in my own. Maybe someday I’ll come across someone who lives in my neck of the woods.

  • Heather R says:

    Looks like an awesome trip! I want to try that Matcha Soymilk, looks so good, I like the color!

  • i thought they were cinnamon swirls until i read they were blueberry!! extra yummy!!!

    wow that building is massive! totally reminds me of takeout boxes stacked ontop of eachother!!! hehe ā¤

  • It looks like you two had such a fun meet-up!! I loved learning about that building, too – no apologies necessary for “going physics” šŸ˜› I’m not sure if I woul dbe completely wowed or completely terrified by that elevator and the height of the buidling though, haha. I prefer my feet close to the ground šŸ˜›
    And your cookies ARE perfect – I think you’d be a successful bakery owner šŸ˜‰

  • eatmovelove says:

    I want the Mousse please! Sounds like a great meet-up with great pictures.

  • kaztronomic says:

    What an awesome blogger meet up! I’m glad you enjoyed yourself.

    Okay, that elevator sounds too cool. šŸ˜€

    That restaurant looks delicious! Mango mousse? Yes please!

  • I never did moonwalk for you did I? I guess the rain kind of made me forget about it. Another time šŸ˜‰

    I loved reliving our wonderful day through this post! You’ll recognize several pictures in my own recap šŸ˜‰ Thanks again for such a terrific day… I look forward to another one soon. Sorry I had to leave so early (and I did finish/submit what I needed to, so we’ll see what happens!).

    And PS, those cookies looked (and TASTED) amazing! To the extent that I had no idea you baked them until I read this post. WOW.

  • Megan says:

    Ooh I want those jam rollup cookies! And I love anything with tofu + edamame. I had some today in a stirfry actually! šŸ™‚

  • teenagehealthfreak says:

    that milk is awesome…you’re cookies look yummy!!!! and very pro!!! that resturant looks really good….that is quite a view..i don’t think i would be able to find my house either!

  • sophia says:

    I’ve always wanted to visit Taipei SO BAD!! The Food Heaven!! And I heard they have a lot of interesting historical sites. So lucky, you and Jenny! šŸ™‚

  • Monet says:

    I love her blog…and I think it is so cool that you two were able to connect! I’ve been following both of you during your adventures abroad, and it was so exciting to see you two together! It sounds like you shared a lovely afternoon.

  • edenseats says:

    You MUST bring me with you next time you go! your making me so jealous! Blogger meetups are so fun! please let me know when you get back to la!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Moonwalking Taipei with Jenny at Om Sweet Om.

meta

