Don’t waste your time

November 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

A few days ago I went with a friend to watch In Time, starring Justin Timberlake and Amanda Seyfried. To be honest, the movie itself wasn’t mind-blowing, but it does carry a message and kind of serve as a wake-up call  to our modern society.Time is the new currency in the society portrayed in this movie. Therefore, the richer you are, the more time you have, and vice versa. Each person’s clock starts ticking and counting down to their death after they turn 25. The only way to live is to buy more time, so the rich can pretty much live forever, and the poor may not live past 25. In the two contrasting societies, the upper class have superfluous amount of time on their hands, whereas the impoverished live their lives on a day-to-day basis. Most of them have at most 24 hours of time on their clocks at any point.

“You can do alot in one day”— a brilliant line from the movie. But most of us don’t think so. Problem is, we are probably not doing everything efficiently. We need to rethink our strategies. Perhaps we are spending too much time on Facebook, checking our emails constantly, getting distracted easily. Not that I’m not guilty of any of these charges, but maybe we should all reflect on how we handle our daily tasks.

“Don’t waste my time”–or, don’t waste YOUR time. Are we all doing what we want to do? Are we happy about what we are doing with our time everyday?

…which brings me to…

“Your time is limited, so don’t waste it living someone else’s life. Don’t be trapped by dogma — which is living with the results of other people’s thinking. Don’t let the noise of others’ opinions drown out your own inner voice. And most important, have the courage to follow your heart and intuition. They somehow already know what you truly want to become. Everything else is secondary.”            

“When I was 17, I read a quote that went something like: ‘If you live each day as if it was your last, someday you’ll most certainly be right.’ It made an impression on me, and since then, for the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: ‘If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?’ And whenever the answer has been ‘No’ for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something.

–Steve Jobs


At this turning point in my life, I find these quotes very helpful and motivational, and help guide me in the right direction before I fall into a grave I’ve dug for myself. I try to live my life as I want to everday, as if it is indeed my last day on earth, so that I will not regret it at the end of the day or tomorrow. Already I have taken a big, courageous leap away from dogma, not becoming the researcher, the doctor, or professor that many think I should or expect me to. As of now, I am not 100% sure (maybe 70%) where my future will take me, but I’ll let my true calling take its time to present itself. I feel like sometimes the more you force it to come, the further it will go away from you. Just like catching butterflies. Don’t go chasing after them with a net, they’ll only be frightened away. Instead, remain patient, still, and collective, and there, the butterfly comes. Do what you like, dabble at different things, and someday you’ll find your niche.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Don’t waste your time at Om Sweet Om.

meta

